We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
29
31
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
31
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking bedontario streetloft roomscentrally located place to staylarge skylightmain floorfree parkingsleeping areano elevatorsmall kitchenetteelectric fireplacecoffee makerwalking distancemini fridgeloftstvbathroom
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Bentley's Inn & Restaurant is a long time landmark in Stratford and was refurbished a couple of years ago and the designers did a wonderful job. It is very comfortable and well appointed. It is a two level suite and is completely furnished with everything one would need (i.e.dishes, glasses, cutlery etc) It was exceptionally clean with nice linens. We had a front room with a view of the street. They offer winter rates which are exceptionally reasonable and we plan on returning very soon. Stratford is one of our favourite destinations for a break from the hustle bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: This Inn is not recommended for patrons with disabilities as there are two stairs to deal with. .
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey73Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We selected this property for our one-night stay in Stratford because it is central to everything we wanted to do; walk around the old residential areas of Stratford, hit a couple of restaurants, and drink coffee at Balzac's. We had room 105; a king bed, single chair, TV, kitchenette with microwave and fridge and dinette set on one floor, and a single bed, single chair, TV, fireplace and bathroom on second floor.
Check-in was unhelpful and curt, basically just a key hand-over and the advice to 'keep circling the parking lot, someone will leave eventually." We elected to park across the street instead. Our suite was a good size, long and narrow, with a two-story window overlooking the parking lot. The little kitchenette was very basic but serviceable (two plates, two sets of cutlery, and a cutting board but no bread or paring knife). The bathroom was okay, although the toilet was shoehorned into a narrow space that resulted in one's knee being pressed up against an electric heater. The suite felt a bit tired - the screen in the window was broken, as was one of the shutters; the towel knob beside the shower fell off twice, the carpet is stained, and the bed linens were not great - a shiny itchy bedspread and sheets so thin they resembled cheesecloth. And the tempurpedic mattress - I know some people love these things, but we HATED it. It was like sleeping in a tray of damp sand - sort of like a waterbed without the motion. However, that's not the inn's fault, we knew about the mattresses ahead of time, we just didn't know how horrible they felt.
My main problem was the awkward layout of the suite. It's a total pain to have the bed on one floor and the bathroom on another floor, that's a given and mentioned by others on this site. But why put the TV across from the bed, and so near the window, instead of centered on the wall, where it would at least be visible from the one chair near the bed? And although there's a TV upstairs as well, that one is across from the single bed, again not visible from any seating area. And why only one chair on each floor? Do people not sit together in Stratford? I could have brought the upstairs chair down, I suppose, but I didn't pay a hundred bucks to move furniture around. Because if I DID move furniture around, I'd have put two chairs together (or a sofabed, if you want to keep that single extra bed) in a comfortable seating area in front of the TV with a coffee table, and put the king bed upstairs with the fireplace. Just saying.
Despite the blinds, the light woke us up pretty early, so we checked out before 9, when someone would have been downstairs. We were unable to find the 'express checkout form' that was supposed to be in our room, so handed our key over to a friendly and helpful cleaner who was working downstairs.
So all in all, the suites are roomy and affordable, at least in off-season. However, the layout is inconvenient and the whole setup feels kind of shabby. I won't stay there again, but if I knew a group of people who wanted a lot of room and a super-uncomfortable sleep, I'd send them here.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RobinRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The staff are friendly and the lofts are spacious. There was plenty of room for the five of us (2 adults, 3 children). Our room had a king, two singles and a roll-away. There was even an out-of-the way spot for the roll-away. The two kids in the loft really enjoyed having their own TV. The king bed had a Tempur-Pedic mattress and I found it to be super comfortable. The hotel is downtown which gives great access to numerous shops and restaurants. I would happily book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Traveler_2549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We stayed in one of their lofts above the bar. Nicely renovated building. There is a small amount of parking, and a separate entrance in the back. The room was nicely furnished, with a fireplace and a couple of tvs. There was one large bed, and 2 smaller beds in the loft. The bathroom is upstairs. Fairly quiet, especially after the bar closed. Nice civilized space to stay.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The pros:

--Location is great. Right downtown. Easy walk to everything.
--The tempurpedic mattresses on the beds are great. Why don't more hotels do this?
--Room size is decent.
--Fridge and microwave in room
--Free wifi works fine
--Separate seating area
--Bathroom is fine
--Staff was helpful

The cons:

--The carpets were filthy both in rooms and halls-seriously, they all need to be replaced.
--Having to go upstairs to the bathroom is awkward in middle of the night
--No elevator so this is not a spot for handicapped or elderly guests
--The free parking is a bit awkward--across the street in a garage--but main issue there are 8 spots for 12 rooms (if my count is correct)

Other notes:
They had messed up our reservation but figured it out before we arrived. Since we had 4 adults they gave us 2 rooms for 2 for two nights of our three nights stay, not charging for the second room. It was nice to have the extra privacy but a bit of a hassle to have to switch rooms for the third night.

We did not experience the noise issues others have mentioned but I can see how it could be an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews