We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Maiden Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mercer Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 159*
USD 154*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Inn at Stratford(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 169*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 152*
USD 147*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 140*
USD 134*
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 108*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bruce Hotel(Stratford)
USD 344*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 104*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majer's Motel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 89*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Parlour Inn(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 161*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stratford Hotel(Stratford)(Great Value!)
USD 169*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
253
70
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
253
70
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardenjuliet roomromeo julietsconesbreakfast was deliciousdufton houseavon theatrecoffee and teaold housefuture visitsminute walk to downtownthird floora lovely staythis past weekendfrench toastceiling fanwithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I booked the Stone Maiden Inn (Rome & Juliet room) for a one-night stay as part of a birthday gift to my husband that included excellent seats for Jesus Christ Superstar and a romantic dinner out before the performance. Unfortunately it was the accommodation that was the only part of the package that was a let down. The excellent rating given the Inn by the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association and Trip Advisor as well as the price of the room indicated to me that I could be assured of a first-class experience. Instead, we found that the room's ensuite needed some freshening up (at least some new paint); the electric fireplace did not project any heat (something we could have benefited from after returning from the theatre); there was only 1 bedside lamp (we both like to read in bed before retiring); and as I lay down in our 4-poster bed and looked up at the top of the posts, I could see a good-sized cob web suspended from the top frame joining the tops of the canopy bed-posts. The website for the Inn states "the grand very Victorian front hall is reached via a well preserved 'Stratford Porch' and sets the tone for the Stone Maiden Inn". Well I'm afraid the porch also needs a re-do.

The Inn's dining room and front parlour are very nice, breakfast was delicious and the service is friendly. The Inn is close to the theatre and the bed was comfortable. However much of the Inn just seemed to be a little tired and not worth the top dollar rate. Hopefully some renovations are planned for the winter.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

We are so sorry that you didn't feel you had good value for your stay and wished you would have talked with us about it. As new owners, we are quickly redoing the property to bring it back up to "our personal" standards. In the first year, we put $150K into things like Windows, kitchen, heating system, roof, landscaping, walkout from basement (things that the guests don't see but were vital just the same) and redecorating the parlour and dining room. Now that our second season just finished, we just completely redid Romeo & Juliet, Charmine, Lewis Terrace and Princess Diana rooms. All got new paper, hardwood floors, bedding, and accessories, some new furniture, pictures, etc. Our next project is the other 4 rooms on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately you have to make money before you can spend it which causes me buy lottery tickets hoping to win big so that I can do all the changes to the property that I want to do right now. The fireplace was a switch on the wall that you must have accidentally turned off when you turned on/off the lights (right below it). The spider web, well sorry, properties this old do have a few spiders in them and those little jiggers are quicker than you can imagine. We hope that you did enjoy your trip to Stratford. Its a beautiful city with wonderful people and lots to do. We hope to see you again to enjoy the "New" Romeo and Juliet room that will capture your heart. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast by our Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay while we were in Stratford to watch a couple of plays. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful during our first trip to Stratford, the room was perfect and the breakfast was amazing. Couldn't imagine a better place to stay!

Room Tip: There are at least a couple of rooms with king -sized beds which we asked for - it was perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

It was so nice to see you again and thank you for taking the time to do a review. We're glad you had the chance to visit again this year and let's plan on that glass of wine next visit :).
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our second visit to this charming B&B in the heart of Stratford theatres and festivals. Breakfast was a top notch, fine dining experience. Gracious parlour and dining room. Our bedroom was full of charm and character with plenty of space. Delightful hosts. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Edwina room was spacious and charming
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. It's always a pleasure to see you both and look forward to our Christmas visit coming up soon.

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I recently booked our second stay at the Stone Maiden Inn this past weekend to enjoy the Culinary Festival. As always, we were greeted by owners Kim and Pat with a huge smile and welcome. The rooms are not only charming but very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are always a delight and we look forward to what's on the menu! Great stay and look forward to our future visits.

Barb & John Moore

Room Tip: We've stayed in three of the rooms and although they were all wonderful, my favourite (so far) is the Abegail.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbandJohnMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Charming Inn, very conveniently located to downtown and the Avon Theatre. A comfortable, friendly place. The owners were gracious and helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding. Spa services a plus, enjoyed a wonder massage to remove the "kinks" of travel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KateAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the benefits of our on-site spa services. Rebecca is amazing. Glad you also enjoyed our breakfast menu. Mark is a very talented chef and we always get raving reviews on his creations. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews