We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic retreat!”
Review of Stone Maiden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Maiden Inn
Ranked #5 of 89 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic retreat!”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a lovely night at the Stone Maiden Inn B&B in Stratford. The hosts, Pat & Kim were warm and the hospitality was excellent. The room that we stayed in was clean, comfortable and cozy. The breakfast in the morning was delicious - homemade scones and scrumptious french toast.

I would recommend the Stone Maiden Inn for any couple looking for a quiet and romantic retreat...and yet, still within walking distance to shops and restaurants in downtown Stratford.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsvilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you both and to be part of your romantic getaway. We are happy you loved our breakfast and the Inn and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. Hopy you have a wonderful New Year and all the best in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    62
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
163
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beamsville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I booked the Stone Maiden Inn (Rome & Juliet room) for a one-night stay as part of a birthday gift to my husband that included excellent seats for Jesus Christ Superstar and a romantic dinner out before the performance. Unfortunately it was the accommodation that was the only part of the package that was a let down. The excellent rating given the Inn by the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association and Trip Advisor as well as the price of the room indicated to me that I could be assured of a first-class experience. Instead, we found that the room's ensuite needed some freshening up (at least some new paint); the electric fireplace did not project any heat (something we could have benefited from after returning from the theatre); there was only 1 bedside lamp (we both like to read in bed before retiring); and as I lay down in our 4-poster bed and looked up at the top of the posts, I could see a good-sized cob web suspended from the top frame joining the tops of the canopy bed-posts. The website for the Inn states "the grand very Victorian front hall is reached via a well preserved 'Stratford Porch' and sets the tone for the Stone Maiden Inn". Well I'm afraid the porch also needs a re-do.

The Inn's dining room and front parlour are very nice, breakfast was delicious and the service is friendly. The Inn is close to the theatre and the bed was comfortable. However much of the Inn just seemed to be a little tired and not worth the top dollar rate. Hopefully some renovations are planned for the winter.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2011
We are so sorry that you didn't feel you had good value for your stay and wished you would have talked with us about it. As new owners, we are quickly redoing the property to bring it back up to "our personal" standards. In the first year, we put $150K into things like Windows, kitchen, heating system, roof, landscaping, walkout from basement (things that the guests don't see but were vital just the same) and redecorating the parlour and dining room. Now that our second season just finished, we just completely redid Romeo & Juliet, Charmine, Lewis Terrace and Princess Diana rooms. All got new paper, hardwood floors, bedding, and accessories, some new furniture, pictures, etc. Our next project is the other 4 rooms on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately you have to make money before you can spend it which causes me buy lottery tickets hoping to win big so that I can do all the changes to the property that I want to do right now. The fireplace was a switch on the wall that you must have accidentally turned off when you turned on/off the lights (right below it). The spider web, well sorry, properties this old do have a few spiders in them and those little jiggers are quicker than you can imagine. We hope that you did enjoy your trip to Stratford. Its a beautiful city with wonderful people and lots to do. We hope to see you again to enjoy the "New" Romeo and Juliet room that will capture your heart. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast by our Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay while we were in Stratford to watch a couple of plays. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful during our first trip to Stratford, the room was perfect and the breakfast was amazing. Couldn't imagine a better place to stay!

Room Tip: There are at least a couple of rooms with king -sized beds which we asked for - it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
It was so nice to see you again and thank you for taking the time to do a review. We're glad you had the chance to visit again this year and let's plan on that glass of wine next visit :).
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our second visit to this charming B&B in the heart of Stratford theatres and festivals. Breakfast was a top notch, fine dining experience. Gracious parlour and dining room. Our bedroom was full of charm and character with plenty of space. Delightful hosts. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Edwina room was spacious and charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStoneMaidenInn, Owner at Stone Maiden Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. It's always a pleasure to see you both and look forward to our Christmas visit coming up soon.

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I recently booked our second stay at the Stone Maiden Inn this past weekend to enjoy the Culinary Festival. As always, we were greeted by owners Kim and Pat with a huge smile and welcome. The rooms are not only charming but very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are always a delight and we look forward to what's on the menu! Great stay and look forward to our future visits.

Barb & John Moore

Room Tip: We've stayed in three of the rooms and although they were all wonderful, my favourite (so far) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbandJohnMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.6 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#3 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#2 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 km away
Agincourt Manor
Agincourt Manor
#33 of 89 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Maiden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Maiden Inn

Property: Stone Maiden Inn
Address: 123 Church St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2R3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price range (per night): $167 - $308
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Maiden Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1873 Victorian Mansion with 14 guestrooms all with en-suite, antiques set in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Rated at 4.5/5 stars under the Federation of Bed and Breakfast Association of Ontario. Spa services now available. Hot chef prepared gourmet breakfast menu daily included. Park and walk everywhere. Stratford is home to Justin Bieber, the Stratford Festival, and many culinary events... always something to do year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Maiden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Maiden Hotel Stratford
Stone Maiden Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing