We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Ranked #23 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2012

For our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary, my husband and I visited Stratford in July of this year and spent two wonderful nights in the Regency Suite at Stewart House Inn.

This was only my second time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and, again, I had the most magical experience.

The Regency suite is very spacious and beautifully appointed. With its amazing king sized bed and very large bathtub it is extremely comfortable.

Delicious breakfasts by the lovely pool was a joy in the morning.

Everyone who works for Marc and Lynn made us feel very welcome and were very kind, but it was Marc and Lynn who made our stay so very special with their thoughtfulness.

Returning from seeing The Pirates of Penzance our second evening, we found a small bottle of bubbly and chocolates in our room because Marc remembered the reason for our stay at Stewart House.

I chanced to see some of the other rooms that were empty on the morning of our departure and they are equally charming. The house is an heirloom and a perfect companion to some of the best shows we have ever seen.

We enjoyed our stay so much at Stewart House that I'm already in the process of making a reservation for this time next year.

We simply wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Stratford.

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming, but some only have a shower. The Garden suite has its own air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

I don't even like B&Bs!! In fact I usually avoid them at all costs!! This one may just have changed my mind. It is a lovely spot in a quaint little town with world class theatre. When we arrived the owners were out. We were greeted by the housekeeper who clearly loves her job. Our rooms were just beautiful with a great beds and bedding. Each room has a theme. My room had a bathroom across the hall which was a bit tedious but livable for two nights. The owners were friendly and helpful. The house was just gorgeous. The living room has a bar and guests are encouraged to help themselves! There are home baked snacks and a cappuccino maker available at all times. The breakfast is worthy of any gourmet restaurant. There is a salt water pool with a wonderful deck. I had a shower before dinner and the theatre. By the time I got back the towels had all been changed. My bed was turned down and I had a snack next to my bed!! Wow!!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank maimogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just came back from a 2 night stay in the Stewart house .This place is so unusual because every detail has been taken care of.We were in the regency room which was a suite very comfortable spotless and amazing beds.Marc (the owner) and the rest of the staff were always ready to help.The breakfast on the pool deck was excellent .I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts but never one like this.We will be back next year and hopefully for more nights.Thanks Marc and Mary and everybody else for a lovely stay.Marietta Kalman Buffalo NY

Room Tip: WE stayed in the regency room which is the largest in this inn but I am sure that the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tita955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous one night stay at the Stewart House Inn. We took advantage of the "Celebrity Chef Inn-spired" package which included a cooking class offered by the resident Chef David Pallan and an absolutely delicious 3 course dinner. (Hands down one of the best meals we have EVER eaten!) The Inn was immaculate, luxurious, welcoming and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and friendly without being overbearing. My husband took advantage of the salt water pool while I lounged in the beautiful patio/garden area. A scrumptious breakfast in the ballroom followed much welcomed in-room coffee service. All this and only a short walk from the theatre and shopping district of Stratford. We couldn't have asked for a nicer getaway. Thanks to Marc and his superb staff!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValandDaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I stayed there for our Honeymoon, we were in the "Art Deco" room. The building is very well kept, spotless with fantastic decor. Our host Marc knows the details of making a guest feel comfortable and well cared for, without being overbearing, Ann's breakfasts are to die for.

Do not hesitate to consider staying here, it is truly outstanding.

Room Tip: Plenty of room in the Art Deco Suite for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
2.3 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
182 reviews
4.3 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#11 of 18 in Stratford
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
411 reviews
2.5 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.4 km away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#7 of 88 in Stratford
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario

Address: 62 John St N, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $355 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious private retreat set on an acre of residential woodlands, overlooking the Avon River parklands and within two blocks of the downtown core. All rooms are exquisitely furnished with ensuite bathrooms. Features include fine Egyptian linens, all-season goose down duvets, robes for each season. wireless internet access, flat screen TV with DVD, and stereo CD/Clock radio. Tariff includes morning silver coffee service, gourmet breakfast, full evening turndown, and seasonal heated salt-water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Hotel Stratford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing