We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more...”

Dani's Bistro & VQA Wine Bar
Ranked #25 of 496 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Price range: USD 5 - USD 14
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Featuring local, fresh ingredients inspired by the Niagara Region, Dani's Bistro is your first choice for hearty, delicious, nutritious, gourmet cuisine at very fair prices! Pair with a glass (or two!) of your favourite VQA wine for the perfect night out! Our diverse menu is sure to satisfy all your cravings at any time of the day. Whether you're looking for a healthy lunch to get you through the rest of the day, a delicious dinner to enjoy with friends, or a sweet dessert to share with that special someone, you'll find all that and more at Dani's Bistro. Visit our website to view our menu, and come visit our beautiful downtown location to try our fresh food.
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We recently dined at this little bistro
before heading to the meridian centre last week. We tried it out as lately we have been eating downtown due to schedules and events. The restaurant is clean and cozy and well lit. The server was a nice person whom knew her drinks and knew the menu well. She was the bartender, the server and the cleaner that shift. It was not that busy but she was hustling.

We have been twice before and this time The food was not great. The menu is much smaller. The flavours of the salmon and rice were bland. Fish was warm when it arrived but after eating it, it appeared very dry and pasty. We told the waitress it was just ok when she asked. We also order an appetizer to start which was just edible. The other mains on our table were not able to be finished. Wine was great and crisp. Nice selection of VQA wine. It may have been an off night. We did not feel satisfied.

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Beautiful day in St Catharines. Dani's had the windows open to the street for people watching. My husband had the pork belly BLT and enjoyed it. I had the lobster shrimp roll, a little unconventional but very tasty. Will return. Thought the menu was quite a bit smaller than the last time we were there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LJJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Terry our waitress was AWESOME! The Chicken Supreme, transcendent! The atmosphere is classy, and enjoyable! Our party of 3 recommends this amazing gem, strongly!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gensgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

My husband and I went to Dani's. Looked very nice. We were the only ones there. It was 3:00 in the afternoon. Ordered the shrimp/lobster sandwich and fries to share. We were so disappointed in this meal. The fries were left over from lunch as they were soaked in oil and we are pretty sure they were just heated up. If not, they need to get better fries....they were so gross. The sandwich was so disappointing as well. Never ate anything like that in my life. My husband and I both hated it, but we ate it because we were hungry. We told the waitress it was fine because we really didn't want to cause an issue, but we went out last night and told several people at the grape and wine event how disappointed we were at this cute little bistro downtown. If you visit this bistro, please take our advice and don't ever order that sandwich and ask for FRESH fries.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanisBistro, Owner at Dani's Bistro & VQA Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Im sorry to hear you were disappointed in your meal. What is more disappointing is that you did not mention it to your server. We would have happily made you something else. Our shrimp and lobster burger is a favorite to many and our best seller at grape and wine, many come back for another. Maybe it wasn't for you, but in the future, please inform your server and give any restaurant the opportunity to correct or change your order.
~Dani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Had a small gathering for my girlfriend's bday. Great service! Our server was super friendly. Drinks were great. Menu was small but very diverse. Everyone loved their meal. I will be coming back forsure to try other items on the menu in the future! Thanks to the staff at Dani's Bistro for an amazing night!

Thank Gord D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanisBistro, Owner at Dani's Bistro & VQA Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and look forward to serving you again!
~Dani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dani's Bistro & VQA Wine Bar also viewed

 
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Dani's Bistro & VQA Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing