We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for Mexican”
Review of Pancho Villa

Pancho Villa
Ranked #309 of 2,736 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place for Mexican”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I live just around the corner from this place, and every time I go here I love it. Service is always good, the food is pretty authentic and delicious. Fajitas are great. Drinks are great. No complaints!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jame_3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    59
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went with a large group, and they were very accommodating to us. All 9 people very happy with the food and service. I would definitely go back, as there is lots I wanted to try but didn't get a chance to

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaelforcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, nice service- Loved it”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great food and service . The chicken enchilada is awesome. I have been going there for years and a happy customer. Parking is an issue in the evening and weekends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kemcheca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Think I got sick from accidental gluten : (”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Food was decent, and they seemed familiar with gluten allergies, but I got sick after, so Celiacs may wish to avoid.

Helpful?
1 Thank GF-Travel-4-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If you are looking for good Mexican in downtown Ottawa, try Pancho Villa. It is conveniently located on Elgin Street. There are a good assortment of dishes on the menu. My personal favorites include: the fajitas; nachos; and Gringo Chicken. Pancho does charge for cheese to go with the fajitas. The Gringo Chicken is topped with avocado and includes a side of rice, black beans and salad.

Their blended beverages are also tasty. Try the Tropic. (A non-alcoholic option is available.)

I often go to this restaurant with friends with young children. This restaurant is accommodating of their requirements. They also find that the portions and food itself is convenient for sharing.

Pancho Villa is a neighborhood favorite.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingShopper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancho Villa also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Pancho Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing