We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think I got sick from accidental gluten : (”
Review of Pancho Villa

Pancho Villa
Ranked #383 of 2,765 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Think I got sick from accidental gluten : (”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Food was decent, and they seemed familiar with gluten allergies, but I got sick after, so Celiacs may wish to avoid.

Helpful?
1 Thank GF-Travel-4-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    60
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If you are looking for good Mexican in downtown Ottawa, try Pancho Villa. It is conveniently located on Elgin Street. There are a good assortment of dishes on the menu. My personal favorites include: the fajitas; nachos; and Gringo Chicken. Pancho does charge for cheese to go with the fajitas. The Gringo Chicken is topped with avocado and includes a side of rice, black beans and salad.

Their blended beverages are also tasty. Try the Tropic. (A non-alcoholic option is available.)

I often go to this restaurant with friends with young children. This restaurant is accommodating of their requirements. They also find that the portions and food itself is convenient for sharing.

Pancho Villa is a neighborhood favorite.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingShopper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, decent prices, huge portions, sometimes spotty service”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Above is how I would describe Pancho Villa.

We go to this restaurant quite often. The food is great. We are vegetarians and their options for us are really yummy (beans, rice, guac...) My partner has food allergies and he has never had a problem eating here. And they make all the food themselves which is really nice! The portions are HUGE!

The only problem I have is that everyone who works there is white. I wish they at least had a Mexican cook or front of house manager.....

Sometimes the service can be spotty. We go on off times because when the patio is closed they really cram you in their small seating area. This way they will put the two of us at a four and with no one behind you so you can't slide your chair pit. (like how it is when it is busy.) They defiantly need a larger location.

The decor is quite nice with authentic Mexican art on the beautifully tiled walls.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good quality and texture!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We went to Pancho Villa for a family event and found the food to be of high quality and very tasteful. Even the setting brings you into a mexican style villa. Would not recommend the margaritas though. We found them to be quite frothy and tasteless lacking authenticity. Overall, the food , whatever you order is very good. They have combo plates that we tried and loved the burritos, chimichangas, enchiladas, refried beans,etc.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbartbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Mexican selections and service”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The service and atmosphere was very good. The house hot sauce allowed for control of heat in our food. My enchiladas were good as was the rice and beans. If you are in the mood for Mexican, Pancho Villa is a good bet.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skysthelimitOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancho Villa also viewed

 

Been to Pancho Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing