We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of ByWard Blue Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ByWard Blue Inn
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I spent two nights at the ByWard Blue Inn in January 2012 and was quite pleased.

THE LOCATION was perfect! It was close to everything! Walking distance from the National Art Gallery, Ottawa Convention Centre, Rideau Centre, ByWard Market, National Arts Centre, Parliament Hill, University of Ottawa, Rideau Canal and a lot of boutiques, galleries, cafes, restaurants and pubs!

MY ROOM had a simple layout and was clean. It was not luxurious but I had all that I needed: a comfortable bed, a kitchenette, a TV, free Internet, a telephone, a closet and a bathroom with a tub. During my stay, it was really quiet and I had a great night’s sleep. I was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel with access to a patio. The room was cold and I had to crank the thermostat on my first night, which didn't do much at first but it slowly became warmer throughout the night. I had to use the additional blanket in order to keep warm but then again it was really cold when I visited Ottawa (minus 30's with the wind chill factor).

THE KITCHENETTE with microwave and mini-fridge was really appreciated. In the cupboards you could find plates, bowls, glasses, wine glasses, mugs and utensils. There was also a coffee machine and coffee packets with sugar.

THE BREAKFAST was more than I had expected. There was cold and hot options: muffins, toast, jam, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, hot and cold milk, fruits, eggs, ham and home fries.

THE STAFF was really courteous and helpful. When I noticed that the coffee machine in my room wasn't working, the man at reception took the broken machine out of my room and less than five minutes later, another nice staff member came to my room with a new coffee maker.

I would recommend the ByWard Blue Inn for its price, service and great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Busy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    315
    71
    34
    19
See reviews for
105
326
63
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location, very clean, breakfast and tea time were lovely! I didn't want to leave this review for fear of making the Inn too popular :) Noise levels were a little high, but could be due to proximity to the elevator.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to elevator if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

What a terrific, quaint, affordable, and convenient place to stay in Ottawa. While not luxurious by the 4 & 5 Star standards it is CLEAN and COMFORTABLE and exceeds any 3 star place I've stayed at before. The room had everything one could ask for (Fridge, Microwave, Coffee pot, television, an extremely comfortable bed, free internet access and a hot breakfast). The one item that really stood out was the Customer Service by ALL staff. Talk about making you feel wanted, these people are terrific. They display the utmost sincerity and are incredibly helpful. What a treat it was to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel6361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I liked my room except I found the floor a bit dirty... I was wearing socks& when I pit my feet up on the white bed some nasty dirt and the odd hair came off. Ew. The breakfast wasn't great, but it was a treat to have free coffee& snacks at their afternoon tea time.
They have a sauna which was lovely to book free of charge, and you really can't beat the location, it's perfect. Overall I would come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I completely agree with Bill M's review. The place is very clean and comfortable. I also did the blind bargain from Expedia. We have a 2 twin-beds room. The beds are European sizes. They are not suitable for big size people, we are small size people so that's not a problem. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. It could be because it's January, the place is quiet. There were street noises, but that's not the hotel's fault. We rather enjoyed the hotel being 3 star, which means we didn't have to pay for local phone call, internet access charges at the 5 star places. The hotel tried very hard to provided everything from umbrellas, to free internet. The person who complained about the cleanliness of the hotel must have a bad day. The complimentary breakfast was kind of cold and the selections limited, but we didn't expect it. The microwave and small fridge are nice to have. This is the nicest 3-star hotel that we have ever stayed at. The location is excellent. The are is central located right in Byward market with numerous restaurants, bakery, and interesting shops. We definitely recommend the hotel for the price and service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sglynn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ByWard Blue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ByWard Blue Inn

Property: ByWard Blue Inn
Address: 157 Clarence St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price range (per night): $149 - $322
Hotel Class:3 star — ByWard Blue Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ByWard Blue Inn is the only hotel in Ottawa`s favorite gathering place for cafes, galleries, museums, restaurants, shopping and the ByWard Market. This charming Inn offers to business or pleasure travelers great room rates in a fantastic location. Queen or Twin Bed rooms feature private balconies, ensuite bathrooms, climate control, Internet, Cable TV and complimentary breakfast. All major attractions are within a 5 -15 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ByWard Blue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byward Blue Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing