We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B&B, everything is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great B&B, everything is excellent”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I have nothing bad to say about Cynthia and her B&B. My wife, my 8-mth son and I stayed two nights in the bigger room with private shower. The room is very spacious and still has enough space after we put in a foldable crib. The house is well furnished and decorated, and very clean - spotless! Cynthia made us so comfortable and felt at home. Cynthia entertained my 8-mth baby during breakfast and he loves her reponding with lots smiles! This B&B definitely is family friendly. As many other reviewers already mentioned, Cynthia's culinary skills are superb. She cooks the best breakfast - both tastes and looks awesome, better than many 5-star hotels. For the price you pay, you get the best value!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liketravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
29
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Shirley Samantha's exceeded my expectations in every way. I felt pampered because Cynthia had thought of everything I could possibly need & more--the cookies were awesome! This is my idea of what a small b&b should be, & the short bus ride to downtown & Parliament Hill turned out to be easy.

Room Tip: Crabapple Room with hall bathroom make an excellent bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

From the outside this B&B looks a little inconspicuous and there is just a little tripadvisor sign in the door window indicating that this must be the B&B you are looking for. But the inside is really awesome.

It is an elegant furnished housed with big and very comfortable guestrooms. Everywhere in the house you’ll find interesting art objects. Cynthia is a very well-educated and sympathic woman which you’ll find in the kitchen most of the time. This is probably the reason why she is such an excellent cook. Her breakfast is really really delicious (yes, one really was not enough)!

I think no four star hotel – neither the rooms, nor the cooking – can compete with Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast. I travel frequently, but up to know didn’t find a comparable B&B. If I should ever visit Ottawa again, I’ll definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

As part of a driving trip around Canada, we stayed 2 nights here to see Ottawa and was very pleased with our stay. In total we stayed at 7 different B&Bs across Canada and this one was definitely the best overall. Very comfortable room, friendly hosts, great location for seeing the city, clean and excellent value for money for the service we received.

As for the food, simply excellent. It's so easy for a lot of B&Bs to give you bread and let you get one with your own breakfast, but the food (several courses) we were brought (literally served to us) was fantastic! Very well presented, great variety, and delicious. Being vegetarian wasn't a problem either.

If you want to stay at a B&B in Ottawa (or even at a hotel), you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We decided to have a stop over in Ottawa on our way home to Nova Scotia for our wedding anniversary. We found this BnB listed in a recommended brochure on Ottawa and decided to give it a try.

This is a charming, tucked away place. We did not have a rental and walking to the heart of Ottawa only took us 15-20 mins. The rooms were very well maintained and serviced daily. The breakfast had a European Style to it, very different. Our hostess Cynthia was very helpful, in giving us directions, places to see and do and took pride in her BnB, and you can absolutely see that in how very spotless this BnB was.
There is a park with a walking path across the street that was great for our last morning stroll before heading to the airport.

The bedroom that we had was very light, and spacious, it also came with its own a 3 piece bathroom : Shower, Basin and toilet, the other bedroom had a separate washroom.The beds although very comfortable were too soft and the room a little too hot. I kept a window slightly open to get a nice breeze.

There was a room on the side that was available to the guests with a wide verity of books to read as well as a stocked mini bar fridge with soda pop and water. And cookie snacks. You could set up your laptop here or use the phone.

Otherwise, this is a nice BnB to stay at. As it only has 2 rooms available, booking in advance is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FtMacTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
2.3 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
291 reviews
2.7 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
1.3 km away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
577 reviews
2.2 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 28 Carlotta Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price range (per night): $85 - $90
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing