We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Great Prices”
Review of Blue Nile

Blue Nile
Ranked #555 of 3,144 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The gentleman who was running the restaurant was the only staff member on site so service was a little slow. As we were the only two people in the restaurant with the periodic take-out order coming in and out, I would hope they put more staff on during busy hours. That is where the negatives end.

We love our Ethiopian and anytime we are in a different city with it- we try it. Their Tej (honey wine) was really good. We had ordered the Vegetarian Combo which (like most E. Restaurants) included a few types of lentils, peas, sauce, salad, and cabbage/carrot/onion dishes with injera. The only thing I was hoping to find was a beet or collard green dish. However, food was spot on. The carrot/cabbage dish was on point! Lentils were cooked perfectly and we were brought more injera without request- free of charge. Most places charge a nominal fee for more injera.

Prices could not have been any better- and then some with the currency conversion. We had traveled 3 hours up for dinner and were not disappointed. We will be back for sure!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Attila_The_Hutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is small and clean. The prices are very reasonable. The food is authentic.

If you want a balance of meat and vegetables then order a meat dish and a vegetable dish. It will come on a platter to share with you and your guest.

Use your fingers and dig in. No cutlery is used. You eat in a traditional style.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

About as authentic as you can get in Canada, if you like Ethiopian food, you have to try the Blue Nile. And if you've never tried it before, you're missing out! The flavours of the berbere will keep you coming back. And eating without cutlery just adds to the experience. You won't leave hungry, guaranteed!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TSBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

When visiting my son in Ottawa, he wanted to take us to one of his favorite restaurants. A new experience for us ...the food was fabulous and the price was very reasonable...delicious!!!

Date of visit: August 2015
2  Thank jeno66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

This was my first time eating traditional Ethiopian food. Went with a work colleague.

No forks or spoons, you eat everything with your hands.

Food was ok, service was good. Small and quaint atmosphere.

2  Thank ob1dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Nile also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Blue Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing