We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moxie's

Moxie's
Ranked #1,544 of 2,699 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Good food at reasonable prices with a good atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank thearcher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service and servers don't know the dishes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Greeted nicely at first but left thinking never to come back there again.

REASONS FOR NO RETURN:
Waiter started with "flicking" over the coasters to us...(had to catch mine). - No need to "flick" the coasters when we are a total of 3 adults and 1 child sitting at a booth.

Asked if the Fish were fresh or frozen. Waiter returned from speaking to chef only to state : The Fish was fresh a day ago and frozen yesterday, but not today...it's fresh today... - It's FROZEN then.

3 other servers appeared with our dishes (which is fine). Here is the sequence of events:
1st Server came over with the Steak Dish and just plopped it on the table with no words spoken.
2nd Server came over and stated "Chicken" - we waited for elaboration of which Chicken dish it was and asked her which dish only to get the same response "Chicken". We had to decipher who's order that was.
3rd Server came with the kiddie dish and handed it over to me - ummm, I don't look like a kid although my niece's dish looked way bigger than my chicken dish.
1st Server came back with the other "Chicken" dish - no need to guess whose dish this belonged to...plopped in empty spot and left. We all looked at one another wondering how we were going to eat without UTENSILS! We had to stop a server for this.

After all food was served and our utensils on hand, the Waiter finally comes back and the ordered Rare Steak tasted like it came straight from the fridge still....Waiter returned the steak and was redone.

At the end, when leaving the hostess said "Come again!" - We all chuckled and said, NO NEVER AGAIN!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

First the under dressed girls at the hottest desk spoke like the were at the Indy 500 with a programmed spell that was made for speed talk.

The food was very very average. The birthday lady had a shrimp salad which at best was a 2out of 10.

I had a cheddar hamburger cooked kill it was road kill!

Because it was the ladies birthday we were offered apparently reluctantly by the manager according to our waiter a brownie which was listed on the menu at $ 1.99.

it was smaller than a wedge from an undernourished peach. it weighed less than a fine hair folical!!!

We eat out a lot in Canada, the US and overseas.

THIS WAS BY FAR THE WORST MESL IN A RESTAURANT EVER!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Good food and love the ambiance. The selection of seats where great because we went early (around 4h30 pm). Excellent choice of drinks also.

Helpful?
Thank lyse b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good food, classy decor but not cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I really liked the decor of the restaurant. The staffs looked very sharp and dressed like in a 5 star restaurant. The food was very tasty but the selection is somewhat limited. The nachos for appetizer was extremely well done.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surenjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moxie's also viewed

 

Been to Moxie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing