We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but parking costs !!!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good stay but parking costs !!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Nice and good hotel for the weekend. All the places are at walking distance. The Parliament Hill is just 15 mins walking and even the ByWard market. The Canal is just at the back of the hotel. Choose a upper floor to get a view of the skyline and down town. The nachos at Lane`s Restaurant in the lobby were really very delicious. We had a small kitchen et with a microwave and a bar fridge. But I think parking should be included in room rate. Paying extra $17.00 per day for parking pinches.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view of the down-town ....... otherwise you see apartment building in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Montréal (great Montreal)
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We were there on Nov. 2011. Close to everything! We had a VERY disturbing room right beside ours (college students group) but security did an excellent job by throwing them out of the hotel!!! :)
Complimentary breakfast was ok (average).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for the last weekend of Winterlude. We chose this hotel mainly for its larger rooms and its being pet-friendly. It's the only hotel that does not charge a pet fee! And since we always travel with our pet, this was a big plus.

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds, a sofa bed, and a kitchenette and we still had space to move around (we also had 2 kids with us). This was probably the cleanest and best-smelling pet-friendly room we have ever stayed in.

Front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. We did not have our room serviced because we had our dog in the room but housekeeping would phone us if we needed anything. Parking was a little tight but we always found an empty space easily. The elevators were a little slow but since we were on the 3rd floor, this was not a problem.

Winterlude was fun, specially the snowflake kingdom. Unfortunately, the mild winter weather kept the Rideau Canal Skateway closed the whole weekend we were there. Oh, well, maybe next year.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ottawa. It's also walking distance to a lot of the attractions Ottawa has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We purposefully looked for a room with a kitchenette as we were staying in Ottawa for a whole week. Apparently the Holiday Inn's definition of a kitchen and our's differ: what passes for a suite is a tiny countertop, a bar fridge (standard in any basic hotel room anyway), and a microwave. A cupboard contains pots and pans, but there's no stovetop or hotplate to cook with them. Unless we were to settle for a weeks' worth of microwaveable dinners (we weren't), the "suite" was a complete waste.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a 'kitchen' and not just a 'kitchenette.'
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed for three nights, not really blown away, but not disappointed in anything either. A really average place. Good location, a walk 15-20 minute walk to parliament hill, rideau centre, closer for rideau canal and a bit further for Byward Market. If you stayed in a Holiday Inn before, you'll get what you expect.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 km away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
729 reviews
0.9 km away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
246 reviews
0.6 km away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price range (per night): $120 - $247
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing