We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel, great service, just avoid rooms on the street side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Although this hotel is a bit dated, it is clean and well-maintained. The staff were excellent accomodating to all my requests, and answered questions with a smile, so huge plus there. The room itself was large enough for the purpose and quite comfortable. The location is both the main strength of this hotel and its drawback - it is in the beautiful, lively historical area of Byward Market, so you can step outside of the door and have a plethora of dining, drinking and shopping options at your disposal. However, the street-side rooms (facing York Street) can be a bit loud at night - I was woken a few times by groups of young revelers and again early in the morning by street cleaning/restaurant deliveries? Nothing a good pair of earplugs couldn't solve, but just wanted to put the word out there. Overall, an excellent hotel with good prices, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing York Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urszula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Urszula C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback! We really love to hear great comments regarding our staff. It’s good to see that you found your room comfortable and suitable!

The Byward Market is definitely a lively place to stay and is the busiest part of Ottawa at this time of year. The ongoing Ottawa 2017 celebrations now include a skating rink on Parliament Hill! For light-sleepers I highly recommend requesting an interior courtyard-facing room to avoid any street noise in the area.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Ottawa again soon!

Colin McCulloch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a little older and is in the middle of being updated. However, the rooms were clean and the workers there were all friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. They have a Starbucks on site and serve breakfast for an extra fee. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Donald W,

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be pleasant and knowledgeable. We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

It is a Courtyard by Marriott and is all good. Location is at ByWard market and you can’t beat that, with French pastries, Moroccan and Asian food fare and more just around the corner. Also a zillion of pubs, was a good stay. I gave it 5/5 because it was a great experience and fab location! Good room and quite clean!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Caius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Caius P,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of the ByWard Market and that you found your room clean and comfortable. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Nancy Champagne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Great hotel close to restaurants, shopping, the University of Ottawa and Parliament Hill. Rooms are clean and a comfortable size. The staff is very friendly. Parking on site is a real plus. Very quiet and restful stay while on a business trip. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you Mary F for taking the time to review your stay at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa! We sincerely appreciate it!

We're so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay! We always strive to provide high quality service and clean, comfortable rooms for our guests and are happy we met your expectations!

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Location is great, Rooms are clean. Make sure they don’t put you in rooms along York Street though, or you’ll have a headache and won’t get any sleep. The music from the bar across the street is very loud and goes late, then the street cleaning happens around 4am, with leaf blowers and street sweeper.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms along York, including 125, 127, Etc..Loud thumping music all evening, followed by street...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank MrFrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you MrFrinkles for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Courtyard Ottawa Downtown!

We'd like to apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. As we are located in a busy downtown area with over 150 restaurants and bars, there can sometimes be noise caused by activity in the area, particularly on weekends. This activity can be hard to predict and beyond our control although we do make efforts to ensure that local establishments are respecting city by-laws and reporting issues as necessary. When reserving, you may request a room which faces our inner courtyard and it will provide a quieter environment. We will always do our best to accommodate these requests.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host your next trip to Ottawa and provide you with a better experience!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
456 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 69 in Ottawa
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 69 in Ottawa
1,518 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: AU$161 - AU$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a superb location in the heart of the city centre at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown. Our exceptional hotel in Ottawa, Canada's ByWard Market District is within walking distance of popular restaurants, shops, downtown businesses and Parliament Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing