We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveller rating
388
400
136
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
400
136
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews byward market great location york street typical courtyard within walking distance parliament hill ottawa downtown beaver tail front desk staff weight room rideau canal hotel is located market area restaurants and bars underground parking walked everywhere per day
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 976 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this establishment and were pleasantly surprised by the over the top customer service! The staff were amazing and accommodating, doing their best to please some picky customers. The room was clean, comfortable and homey. The location of this hotel is in a prime location. It is in the heart of the Byward market which makes it convenient and a great resting spot for people who want to walk around, tour the historic city and go out on the town. Would definitely stay again!!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank I4218TWjujul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you very much 14218TWjujul for giving us a 5 star review of our property!

We are so happy that you and your husband enjoyed our lovely location and we’re glad to hear that our staff met your expectations during your stay. We agree that our location is perfect for everything you need! Don't hesitate to talk to our associates for recommendations on things to see and do!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others and we hope to host you and your husband again for a future stay with us!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable, the pillows very squishy and I think it had an excellent location. Plenty of shops around, there was an Italian market and a bookstore, bakeries etc. all within walking distance .
If you don't feel like going out, they have a little restaurant there as well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Nancy R, we're happy to see you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa!

You're absolutely right about our excellent location! There are so many shops, a farmer's market, restaurants and more all within a short walk. Don't hesitate to ask our associates for directions or recommendations because they love to share their favourites with our guests!

We hope you will think of us should your travels bring you back to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Hotel is very conveniently located in the Byward Market. Room was immaculate. Bed was comfortable. Air conditioning worked. My room faced the courtyard and it was quiet at night. Staff are very helpful and pleasant. Would stay again. Keurig and coffee, decaf and tea pods in room. Free WIFI and a business centre.

Room Tip: courtyard facing rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deaglekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us deaglekl!

We're happy to see that you enjoyed your time at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa! Our central location allows guests to make the best of their time in Ottawa and we aim to provide clean, comfortable rooms and high quality service upon your return from exploring the city. We thank you for sharing important information about our amenities with future guests!

We're pleased to have met your expectations and hope you will return on your next visit to the Nation's Capital!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Great location, close to ByWard Market area with so many restaurant choices. Within walking distance of most of the sites we wanted to see. We just left the car in the lot for three days and walked everywhere. And we are seniors! We stayed for three nights, the first two were relatively quiet, but the third night (weekend night) we had to deal with what we believe was motorcycle traffic in the middle of the night outside of our room. It went on for quite a while. But at the same time it is a hotel in a city so it should be expected to have some noise . Next time we will ask for a room that might be quieter. Otherwise it was a lovely stay, the front desk staff was exceptional at all times and the room was very well maintained each day. The only negative which is why I cannot give it a 5 was the persistent pan handler on the hotel property on the last day we stayed there.

Room Tip: ask for a room that isn't on the busy street!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank minniejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Minniejan, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa!

As you mention, our location is ideal for parking your vehicle and walking to many of the attractions in downtown Ottawa! Our associates are always ready to answer questions, make recommendations and provide directions so don't hesitate to ask! As we are located in a unique area with an abundance of restaurants, shopping and bars, city noise can sometimes be heard from within our rooms therefore those preferring a quieter environment can request a room which faces our inner courtyard and we will always do our best to accommodate. We're very sorry to hear about the panhandler which put a damper on your stay. While this is an issue that afflicts much of the downtown core, we attempt to remain vigilant and prevent such activity from happening on our property. I will review this with our associates to ensure that we remaining proactive in preventing this activity from bothering our guests. We thank you for bringing it to our attention!

Again, we thank you for your comments as they are integral in helping us improve our service and we look forward to hosting your next trip to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

In the heart of the Byward Market and close to shops and restaurants, makes this hotel a fabulous stay. We had heard about prior complaints of noise but chose a room that faces inward to the courtyard and we enjoyed a nice quiet stay.

The room and the hotel were very clean and met our expectations. Parking was available in the surface lot, but there are two other parking areas below ground that offered protection from the elements.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces inward to the courtyard, they are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you Al R for giving your stay at the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa 5 stars!

We're so pleased to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! As we are located in a vibrant area, room which face our inner courtyard offer a quieter environment which is not subject to potential city noise. We always high for the highest of cleanliness standards so we're happy we met your expectation in that regard!

Again, we thank you for sharing with us feedback about your stay and we hope to see you again soon in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews