We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Large rooms with a great location”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 days. We had a two bedroom suite. The suite was very clean and tidy. The furnishings were old and very very dated. Beds were comfy.

We brought a DVD player so that we could watch some DVDs. It turned out that the TVs do not allow for any external hookups, so we had to pay $5 per night for the hotel's DVD player and hookup. Not a big deal, but kind of a hassle.

Internet is wireless which is nice. Speed was fast.

Parking was $21 per day which seemed steep, even for Ottawa. After we'd paid, we saw that many of the lots surrounding the hotel were $13 per day.

Good amount of space and great location. Don't know if we'll return though, decor was really shabby.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you're not looking onto the roof of that adjacent bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    318
    110
    46
    26
See reviews for
281
140
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mascouche, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Been the second time in 3 years coming back to the Cartier Suite... Service was very polite and fast at the front desk, suite (with 2 bedroom) was clean and roomy...

Having an underground parking spot (21$ per day) was the best thing, since we were in a snowstorm during our stay! Also found a Loblaws (grocery) much more closer this time (couple of blocks near the Highway 417)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobtravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments and for returning for the second time. We are happy to hear that you found the underground parking of convenience during your stay.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed at the Cartier Place hotel during the weekend of the 2012 NHL All-Star weekend in Ottawa.

Location
The hotel is situated in a fantastic downtown location close to everything. The Rideau Canal is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to walk to the Rideau and City Hall for skating, and the Chateau Laurier, Parliament Buildings and the Rideau Centre are all within an easy walk.

Pools
The pool area is very clean and well kept. There is a pool and a hot tub located in this section of the hotel. Towels are provided in the pool area so there is no need to bring your own or bring any from the rooms. The pool is unsupervised. And according to my kids both the pool and hot tub are perfect temperature.

Rooms
We had a 2 bedroom suite which meant 2 separate bedrooms, a fully-sized kitchen and a living room area. The rooms are much more dated than they show in the photos, but we found the rooms to be very clean, almost to the point of spotless. Considering there is a kitchen in each suite it was nice to see that we didn't have to deal with any dirt issues.
The kitchen was fully equipped with cutlery, plates, frying pans and pots, glasses and dish towels. There is a full sized oven/stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher. All soap for the dishes and dishwasher are provided by the hotel.
The beds were not the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel, but there were plenty of quality sheets and pillows provided.
Our suite had 2 TV's. One in the livingroom and one in the large bedroom. The TV's were dated 1980's style TV's...27" at most. And because the dressers looked like they were built for very very short people it was almost impossible to see the bedroom TV while laying in bed. Apparently some other rooms had small flat screen TV's.
The layouts of the rooms differ highly from room to room. We were there with a few other families and our room layount was by far the largest.

Parking
There is parking directly under the hotel. Because the hotel is situated downtown there is no parking available on the street. Parking would be my biggest complaint about the hotel. The charge for using the hotel parking was $21/night which I think was very expensive. For our 3 night stay it added almost $70 to our hotel bill when tax is added in. The parking is garage is very tight so if you are driving a large SUV it is difficult to manouver. There is parking down the street for $7/day but that can be a real issue in the winter.

Staff
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Overall
Overall we found this hotel to be over priced at $149/night for a 2 bedroom suite. Had the rooms been more luxurious and updated then the price might be justified. On the positive side the rooms were immaculately clean, had balconies (which would be great during nice weather) and had full kitchens allowing you to save money on eating out.

Room Tip: If you think your room is somewhat small, try asking to look at another room of the same bedroom cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SookieStackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to hear that the hotel was very well situated for your stay. Our hotel loves families and it is good to hear that you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and that your kids enjoyed the pool.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Young Adult Cancer Canada has just held a four day Conference at Cartier Place and Suites Hotel in Ottawa and had a great time. The staff was really nice always trying to help and change things according to our needs.
The communications with the Hotel prior to the event was also quick, efficient and easy. There was a lot of unknown and challenges planning this event from NL and they made it a lot easier. They were also flexible and made many changes on a day-to-day basis.

They were nice with our participants, polite and helpful.

In general, our participants loved the venue. The location is great and close to everything (walking distance). Even if the building is a little old and some rooms outdated, the customer service makes up for it and they responded to requests quickly. Having a fridge in each room was great and an easy way for participants to buy personal items they wanted.
Food for a big group is always a challenge, but the caterer made every effort to accommodate the different needs and adjusted their menu when needed and possible which was very much appreciated.

For Conferences for 80-90 people (more than that is a little too much as the meeting rooms are not big), we would recommend Cartier Place.

Thanks again for the great weekend
Karine

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kachal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawa Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here on a business trip recently and found it very good. I had a two bedroom suite, really a small apartment, with full kitchen, small living room and balcony. Interior and furnishings were somewhat dated, but overall quality was good. There is an indoor, extra charge for the underground parking. Centrally located, close to parks, pubs and restaurants as well as the Rideau Canal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonzowilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
1.4 km away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.9 km away
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.1 km away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
1.3 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartier Place Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartier Place Suite Hotel

Property: Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Address: 180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#29 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price range (per night): $125 - $231
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartier Place Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Cartier Place Suite Hotel was honoured with the 2016 Service Excellence Award from major online travel websites. The hotel has also a 3 Green Key eco-rating. Proud to be family owned and operated, the hotel is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the Ottawa Convention Center, the ByWard Market and City Hall. You will find our pet friendly accommodations in a quiet downtown neighborhood, located one block from the historic Rideau Canal and the trendy boutique area of Elgin Street. Always a favorite among families and business travelers alike; the hotel offers 250 spacious one and two bedroom suites, including VIP suites with Jacuzzi, Business Suites and Penthouse Hospitality Suite with a roof top patio and beautiful city views. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms, combined living/dining area with a private balcony. Deluxe meeting and banquet facilities feature floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook our gardens. Guests may also enjoy the games room, children's playroom and the only downtown hotel with a private outdoor garden patio complete with playground and shuffleboard court. The indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, exercise room and the friendly atmosphere all contribute to a memorable stay. Whatever the reasons for your stay, there's flexibility and a willingness to meet your needs at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Whoever you are and wherever you come from, as soon as you step in the door, you will know you are welcome. Suite dreams await you... here." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cartier Place Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartier Place Hotel Ottawa
Cartier Place Suite Ottawa
Hotel Cartier Place Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing