We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 135*
USD 118*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 116*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 138*
USD 125*
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 178*
USD 145*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 137*
USD 112*
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 184*
USD 127*
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rideau Heights Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
USD 91*
USD 88*
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adam's Airport Inn(Ottawa)(Great Value!)
USD 101*
USD 98*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 124*
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 140*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
243
356
135
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
356
135
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenseparate bedroomparliament hillwithin walking distanceunderground parkingrideau canalelgin stbyward marketdowntown ottawabit datedown mealslocation is excellentindoor poolhot tubminute walknational arts centresmall kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Been the second time in 3 years coming back to the Cartier Suite... Service was very polite and fast at the front desk, suite (with 2 bedroom) was clean and roomy...

Having an underground parking spot (21$ per day) was the best thing, since we were in a snowstorm during our stay! Also found a Loblaws (grocery) much more closer this time (couple of blocks near the Highway 417)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobtravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments and for returning for the second time. We are happy to hear that you found the underground parking of convenience during your stay.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed at the Cartier Place hotel during the weekend of the 2012 NHL All-Star weekend in Ottawa.

Location
The hotel is situated in a fantastic downtown location close to everything. The Rideau Canal is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to walk to the Rideau and City Hall for skating, and the Chateau Laurier, Parliament Buildings and the Rideau Centre are all within an easy walk.

Pools
The pool area is very clean and well kept. There is a pool and a hot tub located in this section of the hotel. Towels are provided in the pool area so there is no need to bring your own or bring any from the rooms. The pool is unsupervised. And according to my kids both the pool and hot tub are perfect temperature.

Rooms
We had a 2 bedroom suite which meant 2 separate bedrooms, a fully-sized kitchen and a living room area. The rooms are much more dated than they show in the photos, but we found the rooms to be very clean, almost to the point of spotless. Considering there is a kitchen in each suite it was nice to see that we didn't have to deal with any dirt issues.
The kitchen was fully equipped with cutlery, plates, frying pans and pots, glasses and dish towels. There is a full sized oven/stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher. All soap for the dishes and dishwasher are provided by the hotel.
The beds were not the most comfortable I have slept in at a hotel, but there were plenty of quality sheets and pillows provided.
Our suite had 2 TV's. One in the livingroom and one in the large bedroom. The TV's were dated 1980's style TV's...27" at most. And because the dressers looked like they were built for very very short people it was almost impossible to see the bedroom TV while laying in bed. Apparently some other rooms had small flat screen TV's.
The layouts of the rooms differ highly from room to room. We were there with a few other families and our room layount was by far the largest.

Parking
There is parking directly under the hotel. Because the hotel is situated downtown there is no parking available on the street. Parking would be my biggest complaint about the hotel. The charge for using the hotel parking was $21/night which I think was very expensive. For our 3 night stay it added almost $70 to our hotel bill when tax is added in. The parking is garage is very tight so if you are driving a large SUV it is difficult to manouver. There is parking down the street for $7/day but that can be a real issue in the winter.

Staff
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Overall
Overall we found this hotel to be over priced at $149/night for a 2 bedroom suite. Had the rooms been more luxurious and updated then the price might be justified. On the positive side the rooms were immaculately clean, had balconies (which would be great during nice weather) and had full kitchens allowing you to save money on eating out.

Room Tip: If you think your room is somewhat small, try asking to look at another room of the same bedroom choice. The rooms seem to differ in size despite being the same layout.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SookieStackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager003, General Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are happy to hear that the hotel was very well situated for your stay. Our hotel loves families and it is good to hear that you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and that your kids enjoyed the pool.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Young Adult Cancer Canada has just held a four day Conference at Cartier Place and Suites Hotel in Ottawa and had a great time. The staff was really nice always trying to help and change things according to our needs.
The communications with the Hotel prior to the event was also quick, efficient and easy. There was a lot of unknown and challenges planning this event from NL and they made it a lot easier. They were also flexible and made many changes on a day-to-day basis.

They were nice with our participants, polite and helpful.

In general, our participants loved the venue. The location is great and close to everything (walking distance). Even if the building is a little old and some rooms outdated, the customer service makes up for it and they responded to requests quickly. Having a fridge in each room was great and an easy way for participants to buy personal items they wanted.
Food for a big group is always a challenge, but the caterer made every effort to accommodate the different needs and adjusted their menu when needed and possible which was very much appreciated.

For Conferences for 80-90 people (more than that is a little too much as the meeting rooms are not big), we would recommend Cartier Place.

Thanks again for the great weekend
Karine

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here on a business trip recently and found it very good. I had a two bedroom suite, really a small apartment, with full kitchen, small living room and balcony. Interior and furnishings were somewhat dated, but overall quality was good. There is an indoor, extra charge for the underground parking. Centrally located, close to parks, pubs and restaurants as well as the Rideau Canal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonzowilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

If you are on a business trip and plan to stay in ottawa for atleast a month i suggest you consider ths hotel. it is centerally located
There are bouble bed room suits and single bed room sulis also
it has a kitched .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipi9201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews