We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
131
173
111
42
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
173
111
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer store on site restaurant the salt water pool patio doors hot tub canadian tire centre room was clean hockey game first floor nice pool great sleep exercise room front desk staff easy access nice stay location is great pets
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We had a plesant experience at this hotel. Hotel was clean, neighbourhood was good, staffs were helpful, pool was nice and well maintained, check in was easy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Even though it is located on a busy street, we didn't hear a sound! Restaurants and shopping across the street. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you we appreciate your input and value you as a customer. We hope to see you back soon

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at Best Western Plus Barons hotel when we went to attend a show at Scotiabank place. The hotel is quite old, although it has been updated recently. The rooms were regular size, the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable - we had the best sleep ever, and we are light sleepers. It was quiet in and outside of the room, did not even hear the heater working. The bathrooms could use some upgrading, but the water pressure in the shower was good, towels and toiletteries were provided. For a one night stay it was well worth the price that we paid ($95.00 through advanced booking). The pool is heated and I believe it is salt water - we made good use of it in the morning, however towels were not readily available at the pool - had to ask reception and they only had 2 towels. It was 8 am, so perhaps the regular service was not done yet at that time. The restaurant on site is reasonable priced and food was surprisingly good. I would recommend the hotel for a short sleep over. Location is near the major road and easy to get to.
Staff was pleasant and check in/out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We do our best to keep our guest comfortable and give them a feeling of being welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My sister and I booked a room based on the photos and thought we would arrive at a modern bright facility. Our check in was very pleasant and the staff delightful and very helpful however when we got to our room it was like walking into a cave,very dark, no welcoming lights. We were told it looked out onto a courtyard so we decided to open the curtain and let some light in. The courtyard was a parking lot and the there was a wee bit of grass but this has a picnic table with burn marks all over it and a rusty old barbecue. Unfortunately it was also the "smoke hole"

The room was clean though dismal and the staff excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for your response. will will be renovating outside area in spring 2012. also, we have replaced the entrance light in the rooms with ones that cast a better light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed over for one night only. Rate was cheap, as we bought from online booking service. The room seemed clean, but smelled like an old cigarette room with tons of perfume laid down by service people to mask the odors. If you're thinking of heading into downtown Ottawa, this hotel is quite a drive (more than 10 minutes) from the downtown area.
Great inside pool, convenient small workout room, and all the spa amenities were fine, such as sauna and whirlpool bath.
I would recommend this hotel if you play less than 100$ and you are not to "fussy" on funny room smells. By the way, the beds (2 queens) were good and blankets and all were okay too. The service folks seemed okay. There was no contintental breakfast available.

Room Tip: Book through an online booking service....rates can drop by 50%
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRutters, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Kanata Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We are in the process on replacing the carpets in the rooms. It is part of the last phase in our room update and renovation. This will help in the musty smell that you get from dome of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews