We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durham College Simcoe Village Residence
Nearby Hotels
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oshawa(Oshawa)(Great Value!)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 122
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 146
USD 134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
2
4
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
4
5
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Two room suite means each person has their own bedroom. Main benefit is this type of hotel setup would be double or triple the cost. Rooms are clean, check-in was painless and entry/exit is easy.

Standard supplies are included as are bathroom towels. Main room is sparse with old style TV and basic kitchen. Don't plan to make any meals here.

Will be looking to stay again.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank dinanm3atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Staying for 3 nights. We were told there was a hot breakfast available just across from the residence building. She was reminded that there wouldn't be one but a Continental breakfast would be offered - follow the signs the next day. Did that. Breakfast consisted of bagels, vector and fruit loop cereal, apples, oranges with no knife to cut the orange coffee and tea. On day 2 - still no hot breakfast. The breakfast room person showed up at 9:40 to restock an empty tray of bagels. The Raisin Bran jug actually had vector cereal in it. When we tried to leave the residence we were gated in. Had to go back to reception to get parking pass. None of the employees are informed. You get a different answer from each person you ask. The beds are well used! Don't try to put 2 people in the same bed. You roll to the center and the beds have NO support. I would recommend every parent spend a night in one of the rooms before paying for a year. I think you would be disappointed in what you would be getting.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thenewadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We stayed in the residences for 10 days while participating in Lacrosse Nationals in Whitby. It is perfect for sports teams. You have the option of purchasing meals in the cafeteria( pre arrange meals with catering so they are expecting you). You have to have your own pots and pans, plates and cutlery as nothing is supplied in the suites or the kitchen. Dollarama was great for all we needed for the 10 days. There are laundry facilities on site, rec rooms, a bbq area and very helpful staff. Do not expect to have turn down service or high quality towels that you would receive in a hotel because this isn't.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

This is the PERFECT venue for groups with teams of kids for sports. A college residence is practical, down to the concrete, noise-amplifying walls, miniscule beds and cheap rates.

It's also GREAT if you like kids setting off fire alarms at 11:30 at night, tiny towels and drunk adults shouting and swearing in the back area until 2:30am. The SLOW elevators give you plenty of time to admire the overall dormitory ambience and attention to deal. You can only leave the building via a single front exit - don't tell the Fire Marshall.

The fire alarm episode is forgivable I guess - unsupervised kids are a hazard. There is absolutely NO way the staff was unaware that the back area was filled with intoxicated, lurching adults which the staff chose to ignore. Expect this outcome whenever there is no snow on the ground.

We stayed there 2 nights. Never again. Anyone who compares this in any manner (except as a bad experience) to a Holiday Inn has never been to a Holiday Inn.

If all you need is free WIFI, this is your destination. If you want to sleep undisturbed, leave a blanket in your car. You'll need it.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Our lacrosse team booked here for a three night stay while playing in nearby Whitby. Our rate was $89 per night.

The rooms are very plain and small, but other than sleeping we really didn't need to spend much time here. We did have a very nice BBQ on the patio on the Saturday night. There are propane bbq's for your use.

Housekeeping is minimal - towel change and garbage collection only - they don't make your beds.

The really good thing about this venue is that they are not beer police - they let you gather as a group and have an adult beverage without issue as long as you act like adults.

If you are looking for relatively cheap, clean, no frills accommodation, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hab_fan_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews