We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well when your getting a room for $59 a night what can you expect?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oshawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durham College Simcoe Village Residence
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

We has to stay here because our land lord had to put us here as our house we are renting isn't ready. Obviously not too thrilled about staying in a community college dorm room we wernt expecting much, but we expected more then what he experienced. right off the bat walking to your room there's kids with their room doors open and running from room to room and just being college kids... But none the less they should have them away from "hotel guests". Anyway our toilet made a constant running water and the shower made a high pitched noise that gave us both headaches. The beds were decent and the beds wernt that bad but overall I'd 200% pay the extra $20 to stay in an actual hotel with clean towels and basic toiletries.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

I'm a student at Durham College. I have been living in res for about a year now, and the only improvement I've seen is the new store downstairs(ridiculously over-priced!) and wifi (that keeps disconnecting every time!!! i cant do my homework and always have to go at the library!-very inconvenient!). AND another thing that really pisses me off, there's no water almost every week!!!! I swear i dont know how much i can stress this but reallyyy???? NO WATER for 8am-2pm??? (it's fine, if it happens ONCE A YEAR!!) I'm paying wayyy too much to get this kind of service! and our sink was leaking and our toilet broke 3 times.
PROS: The maintenance was quick(no weekend service tho), and the housekeepers are very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAG V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our corporate travel agent booked this lodging for us, mostly for the convenient location to Mosport race track. It is a bit closer than all the hotels along 401.

However, it is a college dorm, so you need to approach it with the right expectations. I found the rooms clean and fairly up-to-date. There is a small sitting area with kitchenette (microwave and fridge), 2 separate bedrooms, and bath.

The sitting area/kitchenette is roomy enough for 2 people to move around in. The chairs are as good as any you normally find in your hotel room. There is plenty of cabinet and shelf space, sink with hot & cold water, a hotel-size refrigerator, and microwave. Reasonable amount of cabinet space. I don't think it would be big enough if you were going to fix lots of meals, but for the standard shelf snacks and microwave food, it's fine. There is no table to eat from, so you either eat off your lap, or at your bedroom desk. There are no dishes, utensils, or implements, and I didn't see an offer to rent any. Not even paper towels. So remember that it's a totally bare kitchen in that sense. There is a old-fashioned-type TV (not flat panel).

The bathroom does not have much counter space. The shower is a small triangular unit in the corner (think cruise ship). The towels are pretty harsh - thin white and rough. There is no hair dryer or conditioner.

The bedroom has a bed not much bigger than a twin (not sure if it's double size), so it's generally too small for 2 people. Several husband/wife couples in our group slept separately. In many rooms, people complained about the small flat pillows. Mine had just the opposite - pillows very round and firm. I found the bed a bit hard. The desk is standard student size. There are outlets on the wall at each end. The closet is simply an alcove with pole. There is no TV, so if you like to watch TV in bed, you'll have to move the one from the sitting area in (and hope that your roommate doesn't have the same idea). There are no drapes - only vertical blinds on the window so it was hard to get the room completely dark.

On the plus side, having 2 separate rooms with doors was nice for those who were required to have roommates. The water was hot and adequate. The air conditioning is controlled by a thermostat in the sitting area, and it got plenty cold. The internet in the room was wired only, but it was screaming fast (as is probably necessary in a dorm full of college kids). No problem for watching movies or Skype video.

There is a cold breakfast offered, and you could pay for a hot upgrade. On some mornings the orange juice was not working and they were out of some types of milk. The muffins/bagels are ok, but the poppyseed had a strange taste. It's definitely a breakfast of convenience.

There is no workout facility that I know of. Lots of room to go running around campus if that's your thing. Four elevators mean that you don't wait long. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby area was large and had plenty of seating for hanging out or waiting on someone. Depending on what's going on when you are there, you may have to endure teams of kids staying there for sports tournaments who run up and down the hall.

No restaurant on site, but some delivery options typical of college (pizza, wings, Chinese food). There is a Subway and a drug store across the street, and plenty of good options in Oshawa.

Overall, a pretty good value for $90 CAD. But remember that it is a college dorm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndapolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

and it sure looks like one. Shabby and not particularly clean. Many of the rooms have a bad odor. This is a residence and not a hotel. Our daughter's soccer team stayed at this "residence" for a tournament and the only plus was the girls could play in the hallways.

The two bedroom rooms have small beds - a tight squeeze for two people per bed. The pillows are ancient, flat & hard. A number of families bought pillows for the second night after not sleeping the first. The rooms do not have hairdryers or come with conditioner so remember to bring your own. The towels are super thin. Wireless Internet is only available in the lobby - if you want a wired connection in your room you must bring your own cable. The breakfast is the worst ever, some old looking cereal & muffins. If you want to pay $3.00 extra you can get one egg and two slices of bacon. They were running out of most of the food when we stayed.

All this for $80/night. Next time I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Electriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

There are no hotels in Northern Oshawa...all are along the 401. We were invited to a 50th birthday party for a close friend and wanted somewhere to stay close by. (When we visit we usually stay with our friends but their home was already full with visiting family members.) Durham College Residence was perfect for our needs and exceeded our expectations. The room was very large with two double beds, television, bar fridge, microwave and coffee maker. It was spotless! If you are looking for a fancy four star hotel go elsewhere but if you want a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, roomy place to stay look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wanderlust666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oshawa hotels
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Downtown Oshawa
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oshawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham College Simcoe Village Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham College Simcoe Village Residence

Address: 1910 Simcoe St. N., Oshawa, Ontario L1G 4Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oshawa
Price Range: $65 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 326
Also Known As:
Durham College Simcoe Village Residence Hotel Oshawa
Durham College Simcoe Village Residence Oshawa, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing