We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Sudbury, ON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family and I stayed here overnight during a busy weekend. Upon arriving early, our room was not read (which we knew) but we were given access to the amenties such as pool, hot tub and sauna (which I found great since we had kids with us). The booked us two double beds instead of a king room, and had no trouble switching. All in all, for the amount of time we spent at the hotel, we all enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cn971, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank You for the nice comments. It's very much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    47
    58
    27
    44
See reviews for
84
35
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed in the Oshawa Quality Inn for four nights recently. It is a serviceable, pleasant hotel with pluses and minuses.

Pluses: clean room, good location, helpful front desk staff, good facilities (pool, etc.), good restaurant and staff (who remembered my preferred breakfast and brought it unasked on the last morning!), GREAT BED!
Minuses: ladybugs in the room, a shower that is almost impossible to get your body under if you are over 5 feet tall, the restaurant has possibly the worst acoustics in the world (you can hear conversations from across the room without any difficulty!).

Ask if there is a ringette or hockey tournament while you want to stay there. When I was there, a ringette tournament was staying there, with many parents that defined bad behaviour, such as the guy who sat at the next table for breakfast and actually whistled to get the server's attention. When she (rightfully!) ignored him, he got up with his fruit cup and spoon, walked over to her and talked while continuing to eat. Then was the guy that was upset that his pizza was cut into 8 pieces (as advertised!) and not 10. Those are but two examples.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the west side, away from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notbornyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cn971, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel. I do appreciate your feedback, it's one of the ways we can improve on serving our valued guests. We will look into the height of our shower and see if we can improve it. As for the acoustics in the restaurant definitely something we will look into asap. Thank you!
We did have teams stay that weekend and I do appreciate your comments regarding the teams.
I do apologize if there was something we missed to make your more comfortable. I would enjoy welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I love staying at this location amazing staff, great service, nice workout facility! Anytime I trave to this region I always stay at this hotel, easy acess to highway, always clean and great breakfast choices!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cn971, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is the first time we stayed at the hotel and I can only say what a wonderful time we had. The staff was both friendly and professional. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends when they are in the area visiting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royjannine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cn971, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed over night with my kids and was pleased with the cheery reception. The front desk clerk helped us with several tourist type questions in a friendly and knowledgeable manner. Grabbed a bite in the lounge and the friendly service continued. Prompt and friendly service at breakfast as well. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cn971, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank You for the kind review.
Hope to welcome you back to The Quality Hotel Conference Centre Oshawa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1011 Bloor St E, Oshawa, Ontario L1H 7K6, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, Oshawa)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price range (per night): $102 - $179
Hotel Class:3 star — Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Oshawa
Oshawa Holiday Inn
Durham Hotel & Conference Centre Oshawa, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing