We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pristine rental...they have absolutely thought of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Discover Peace & Tranquility
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Discover Peace & Tranquility
Feel At Home Wake To The Gentle Sounds Of The Lakeside Environment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Discover Peace & Tranquility
Feel At Home
Wake To The Gentle Sounds Of The Lakeside Environment
Relax By The Fireplace
Private Luxurious Bathroom
4 Piece Bath
Cosy Country Kitchen
Cook A Romantic Meal
Pine Suite 1
Modern, Clean, Comfort
Kayak The Wilderness Shoreline
Swim In Warm Waters
Fun For The Whole Family
Singing Around The Campfire
Fishing
Boating On Lake Nipissing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
workmom1
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pristine rental...they have absolutely thought of EVERYTHING!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I am honestly torn between telling everyone about this hidden gem, and keeping the secret all to myself.
My Husband & I spent Valentine's Weekend together in hibernation, as it was much too cold to go outside with -44 Celsius windchill. No complaints: We had stocked up on supplies in town before settling in, and this place is so spacious & comfortable that we did not once get cabin fever. The fire was mesmerizing, and there was always something on the Satellite TV.
We will be back as soon as possible!
Doug & Jan are such gracious hosts, I am confident you will never want to leave!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
defiant_1...
toronto, canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet, impeccably clean, comfortable and stunning nature lover's location”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived a bit early and there was a little confusion initially.

Once were we settled the rental unit and surrounding location were amazing. A BBQ on the patio, a fully functional kitchen with stove and fridge, a very comfortable bed, WIFI, satellite TV. And did I mention a fire pit just outside our front door, the lake and nature as well and another fire pit on the shore. Unfortunately it rained a lot during our stay so aside from two evenings spent on the shoreline with a bonfire we did not take advantage of the canoes and kayaks. Next time for sure.

Jan and Doug were excellent hosts. They ensured we understood where everything was on our arrival, they told us that if we needed anything to just call them on the phone.

The "Apartment" was beautiful, tastefully decorated, warm and comfortable. Jan and Doug explained that the wood paneling throughout was actually from trees on their property that had been struck down by a storm a few years back.

We are already considering our next trip to this location.

.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the quiet and the lakeside bonfires
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBBinder
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The setting really is paradise!”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is below the owners (Jan & Dan), with it's own walk-out entrance. Dan did a beautiful job in creating this space...wood siding, ceiling fans, large bedroom, living room, bathroom, etc with tile floors, fireplace, big screen tv and all the comforts of home. Even though you'll want to spend time inside, the setting is what makes this place Paradise (which is what they call it). You are steps away from Lake Nipissing, with it's huge boulders that make up the lake shores. Jan & Dan are gracious hosts and provide kayaks or canoes for you to get out on the lake - which we did... saw huge fish in the clear water and a beaver! Also on the property is a picnic table, chairs & firepit for you to sit and enjoy the beautiful views of the lake. They also rent out 3 teepees on the property if you are so inclined. The drive to get to this rental (located at the end of the road) was further back then we anticipated, but it's worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the setting and the apartment itself
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo B
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality & Nature At Its Finest!”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This has to be one of my all-time-favourite places to visit from now on. My wife and I took a 'mini-vacation', stayed 3 nights over the May 2-4 long weekend, and from the moment we arrived to the day we left was just pure enjoyment!

Jan & Doug were the most hospitable hosts of Vacation Inn Paradise, and staying in their stunning 'cottage cozy' apartment was like a home away from home (which to us right now is 'city life'... Blah!).

The property and view of Lake Nippissing are breathtaking, and the evenings sitting by the fire pit were extremely relaxing, listening to the gentle waves and calm breeze off the water.

I could go on and on about it... but I highly recommend experiencing it for yourself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Besides Everything? How quiet and calm the evenings were.
Liked least: Having to leave... But we'll be back!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brightyel...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, so scenic and quiet”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely short break here. It's such a beautiful place, and the cottage has been furnished with real attention to detail & all the home comforts. Doug was very helpful in providing everything that we needed. The scenery is lovely, with lots of opportunity for short quiet walks. We took some great photos too!

Would love to come back in the summer when there's a little more to do, but a quiet lazy break was exactly what we wanted.

For anyone who is curious, the apartment is on the lower level of the house, with the double doors in the picture leading into the living room. Those doors look out over the lake, and the hot tub is on the upper deck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility
Liked least: A few issues with booking - not particularly the fault of Jan & Doug, but it was a little harder than it could have been.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing