We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the atmosphere, stay for the food...and drinks”
Review of Churchill Lounge

Churchill Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Churchill Lounge: Where Luxury meets comfort and quality. Step into the past with this Classic Lounge Atmosphere offering a Premium, Seasonally Inspired Menu. We have done the research to provide you with the best in Classic Cocktails, Fine Wine, Local & Import Craft Beer and a selection of Tasty Non-Alcoholic beverages. Home of the Famous "$5 Churchill Burger"
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We stopped in during our short visit to NOTL. We had done enough walking around and were simply looking to stop in for a drink and a snack. We were pleasantly greeted by Joe. While they no longer had the wine I wanted in stock, they accommodated our requested of spiced rum and cider, made with regional apple cider of course. We ordered the 3 meat 3 cheese charcuterie board. We stayed much longer than we intended to having ordered more drinks and another dish to share.

We like it so much we went back the next day for a late lunch prior to leaving the area. Joe was once again waiting on us. We had spiced cider and the Monte Cristo sandwich. Food was great, drinks were great.

Joe was fantastic. The entire staff was wonderful.

If you can only stop in one location during your time in NOTL, stop in here. It is worth it!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole_n8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2018

If you're looking for "atmosphere," have lunch in the library (bar?). Our friends had arrived before us, and--to their horror--the dining room was booked for a private party. So six of us ate at two small intimate tables pushed together next to the welcoming fireplace on a cold October day. What a place! The drinks were outstanding. I would gladly have paid just to sit there next to the fireplace and sip my Old Fashioned and drink in the atmosphere of the room. As to the food, well, the very friendly waitress warned me that Ontario law required all meat to be cooked "medium well." I took a chance and lost. Does the term "well-well-done" ring a bell? On the other hand, my wife's salad was huge, but our friend's "Monte Cristo" sandwich was sliced meat on a French baguette--definitely not the dipped-in-egg and fried concoction we call a Monte Cristo in the U.S. of A. Cultural difference? Perhaps. Or possibly a cook who didn't have a recipe book nearby. On the whole, the place was fabulous, the service was great, and the food was--okay.

    • Service
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

The sommelier is Fred and he does a terrific job. Knows everything about wine and looks over an amazing wine cellar. Worth the trip to meet Fred !

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We were just waiting to go to dinner so we decided to go in and have a drink. We found a seat quickly, the bar was quite busy with those have drinks and food.
The server was very friendly and knew the products that were available at the bar. He also checked in on use a couple of time to see if there was anything else we wanted.
Drinks are not cheap, but as the hotel is seen as a higher end hotel that is to be expected.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jabrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

A decent meal with good service. Hotel may be getting a bit run down as there was a bucket in the room to collect drips from the rain. Did not affect our meal. Pricey but not out of line in this pricey village.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank FogCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill Lounge also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Churchill Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing