We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Read House

Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's
Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Kitchen/Dining room
Queen Bedroom 1
Queen Bedroom 2
Twin Room with 2 Single Beds (Bedroom 3)
Upstairs Bathroom Whirlpool Bath and Seperate Shower
Ground floor Washroom with shower
Side of Cottage and Driveway
Shops down the Main High Street in Niagara on The Lake
Niagara On The Lake Main Street
Red Grapes from Local Winery a Short Drive away!
Konzelmann Winery, The Read House Guests enjoying a free tour and taste
Ice Wine and Chocolates!
Niagara on the Lake Ice Wine Festival
1812
1812 War Celebrating 200 years of peace
Fort George
The General Brock Monument
Niagara Falls (Short Drive away around 20 Minutes)
Historical Famous St Marks Church
The Read House can arrange Weddings through Konzelmann Winery the only lake front Winery!
View from Niagara on the lake to the USA
Niagara On The Lake In Full Bloom
The Shaw Festival Theatre
The Court House - Shaw Theartre
The Royal George (Shaw) Theartre
General Simcoe (Founder of Niagara on the lake)
10% Discount to all CDN, UK and US Military
Cleaning the New French Oak Barrels at Knozelmann estate Winery
Food and Wine Paring at The Read House We come to you!!! See our Web Page for prices.
London Bus Tours in Niagara On The Lake and Horse Drawn Carrage Rides
Enough Said, Get away From those Kids You Deserve it Weekend !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tchase123
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Read House was amazing - clean, quaint, within walking distance of great restaurants and shops. A perfect little getaway for family or with friends! I would definitely go back. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaymanLuc...
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have asked for a better vacation. The cottage was perfect for us and our three children (6, 7 and 15 yrs old). What a pretty location with so much within walking distance including a Tim Horton's, bank, convenience shop, bakery, restaurants, bike rental and of course Queen Street. There were also hundreds of things to do within a half hour's drive and we ran out of time to do them all!
Thank you Simon, we hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was great.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona P
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in great location”
Reviewed 2 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay with our grown children. The house was nicely furnished and well equipped with a beautiful garden and back deck as well as a covered front porch. Walking distance to the main street with shops and restaurants in a quiet residential area. Simon was a pleasure to deal with and was very quick to bring us extra towels and unlock the laundry room which had been mistakenly locked. We would happily stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size.
Liked least: Second bathroom was off the kitchen.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Reviewed 6 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oceangyps...
Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent house and area”
Reviewed 13 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed at The Read house for 6 nights during late September 2010. We were pleasantly surprised with the house. The beds were very comfortable with good quality linen and we had more than enough new and thick towels. The lounge is beautifully decorated with DVD’s and CD’s to use whilst staying. The area was very quiet at night. We could walk to town but needed the rental car for drives to the wineries. Were were given tasting vouchers for some wineries, which was great! Would definitely stay again!
Tips: visit THE ICE HOUSE (no tasting fee and excellent ice wine slushy)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing