We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hochelaga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hochelaga Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge ontario canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed at this beautiful old Inn in September. Reminded me of so many of the places I stayed in while travelling in Europe years ago...it feels casual and homey but still sophisticated. Loved the variety of foods at the breakfast buffet, especially the homeade berry frittata. The great thing about Hochelaga is the fact that it is walking distance to the downtown restaurants and stores - allows for having wine with dinner! Cookies, tea & coffee are available continually! I am booked to stay there again Thanksgiving weekend, A great spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner085, Owner at Hochelaga Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2011
Hi K:

I remember you two were having so much fun. Thanks for taking the time to write about our Inn and your stay here. We loved having your smiling faces at moring breakfast
Bye for now..see you next year
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    65
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
32
114
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Me and my partner decided to make a day trip up to Kingston to visit some friends and family, we decided to stay for the weekend and we wanted something different other then the usual big box hotels which for the most part are all the same, yes they can be cozy, but I find most of them cold, stale and the services is just okay. As we walked around downtown we came across The Hochelaga Inn, just looking at the building, it screamed antique, rich and cozy. We were greeted by friendly staff who went above and beyond to give us directions, recommendations and were just overall curious to how we were. And it was not intrusive at all, i appreciated knowing that they cared enough to ask and had offered to make reservations for us. The breakfast was an additional bonus, being that it is included in the rate which most places do not offer, it was exactly what we expected but better, we didn't have to share a table and were able to move at our own pace, unlike other places. It truly felt like a home away from home, I will be returning after the new year and would highly recommend The Hochelaga Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Green K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The room was in desperate need of airing out and renovation. The room smelled mouldy, which was evidenced by bubbling wall paint and peeling wallpaper. The breakfast was underwhelming at best - it appeared that most of the assortment pastries came from the pre-packaged/frozen section of Loblaws. Our weekend was not anywhere near the standard we have come expect of a historic inn or experienced at any other B&B in the province; we have been to quite a few.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPandBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July. I've heard about this B&B since my studies at Queen's University and always were under the impression that it is a very high-end bed & breakfast. We are, unfortunately, not impressed.

We didn't know that the breakfast was a buffet only which would be okay had the food been good - it was mainly continental with filler (i.e. - not in season or cheap) fruits, pastries, cold hard-boiled eggs and tiny quiches - none of which appeared homemade (which one would expect as the "B&B touch", as opposed to hotels). Also the fruit juices were not freshly squeezed. We went out for breakfast on both days. The afternoon cookies were stale/store bought cheap brands/nothing special at all.

The bed was not comfortable, it either sags or is too soft. The pillows also were not at all comfortable. The air con was either too cold or not cold enough even with the ceiling fan on. The bathroom is tiny yet modern so that's alright, but it doesn't have a lot of counter space and the garbage is in weird place that's not easily accessible. TV has good channel selection. The room did have a table but there was no accompanying chair to sit on to write/type on the laptop and take advantage of the included WiFi (which worked well). There is a sitting chair next to the table however, which was weird, not very functional and covered in some strange lint or white fluff that stuck to any clothes temporarily placed on it.

There is a reasonably fast computer in the living room that has free internet; however, there is no privacy since anyone walking past could see what you're typing. The book selection in the study was nice, and it was handy that they had a binder of restaurant menus available for local dining options.

Staff was mostly friendly, helpful and accommodating as much as they could be.

While we didn't hate staying here, we didn't like it all that much, and as such, will not be returning to this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalani_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owner085, Owner at Hochelaga Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. There are many sizes of rooms to fit in all bugets and you choose the least expensive. In saying that all rooms are comfortable, clean and well decorated as mentioned in our hundreds of written reviews in our guest books Large ones are magnificent as our happy return guests will tell you.
.
We do have a complementary light buffet breakfast as advertised on the web page and mentioned when a reservation is made. You are absolutely correct in saying we did not have fresh squeezed orange juice. We could not afford the time or the oranges one would need to accommodate breakfast for up to 50 guests. I really could not say where you would find complementary fresh squeezed orange juice .We serve Tropicana which we find to be the best. Our breakfast are complementary and again we recieve rave reviews each morning.

We have never had someone say our beds are uncomfortable. If anything many ask
where they could find the same mattress as the Inn because their sleep was magnificent. New pillow top mattress we think are the best to sleep on.

I hope your travels are they can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The house is an imposing Victorian Gothic mansion, located in a quiet central residential area filled with gorgeous stone and brick houses in styles ranging from classical Georgian to Victorian "folly". The gardens are pretty, and guests are encouraged to take coffee or a pot of tea outside. We had a lovely large bedroom on the ground floor, with 12 foot ceilings, moldings and large bay window. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom large and clean. No complaints at all! Breakfast was pleasant, but not extraordinary. A nice place for a getaway weekend.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, an upgrade will be given
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.7 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 km away
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
3.4 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hochelaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hochelaga Inn

Property: Hochelaga Inn
Address: 24 Sydenham St, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3G9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price range (per night): $173 - $298
Hotel Class:4 star — Hochelaga Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Hochelaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hochelaga Hotel Kingston
Hochelaga Inn Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing