We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a freshen up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Kingston
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In need of a freshen up”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of KIngston close to a number of excellent restaurants. The underground parking garage was easy to find and reasonable value. The welcome at reception was first class which gave a positive first impression of the hotel despite the drab decor.

The room itself was a disappointment and badly in need of an overhaul. Although large enough for a family of four the room felt dark and needed some vibrant art work to lift the drabness. The beds were okay but I didn't sleep well due to a lot of noise in the hotel, including the beat of music from somewhere below. So if you are staying over a weekend it might be best to request a higher room.

Overall I thought the hotel was uninspiring and much preferred The Radisson which I found to be lighter and fresher.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robsty, Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thankyou for acknowledging the excellence of service that our front desk team presented on your arrival! Certainly our newly renovated rooms and energy efficient lighting will not meet everyone's taste or needs but we are always prepared to act on improving your stay. Be sure to contact me personally on your next trip.

Warmest regards,
Rob Yellowley
agm@fourpointskingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    271
    130
    48
    33
See reviews for
203
182
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chamcook
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stopped at this hotel on our way back to New Brunswick. We really love Kingston and this hotel is clean and very convenient to the Kingston waterfront. We truly enjoyed our stay and the staff are wonderful. The only downfall is the underground parking garage. It is very tight and sometimes it takes a lot of levels before you find a spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augusta16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robsty, Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thankyou for your great comments about our hotel and staff! I agree that configuration of underground parking lots can be ominous at times but we have finished several upgrades and we have fresh new lighting and signage as of this year. We will always find a space your car.
Warm regards,
Rob Yellowley
agm@fourpointskingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Upgraded to a junior suite and while it had a lot more room, two tvs etc.... it had the most uncomfortable bed that I have ever tried to slep in. Would have moved to the couch but the wife had already moved there! Overall hotel was fine and service at check in was efficent. Elevators very slow and small. Next time I would stay with a standard room.

While we planned to try different dining in Kingston the weather and heavy volume of customers on a Saturday nght in many places prevented it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robsty, Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Lots of Habs fans at Four Points Kingston! Thankyou for bringing your concern about your bed to our attention. Our beds are a big part of our comfort and the fact that yours was not is important to us. We will certainly check into it. Please be sure to come back. I am convinced that you and your wife can still enjoy a dreamy comfortable sleep in our suites.
Feel free to contact me personally!

Warm regards,
Rob Yellowley
agm@fourpointskingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I spent four nights at the Sheraton Four Points in Kingston in April 2012. The hotel is a nice hotel in a great area in the downtown area. There are countless restaurants nearby and the hotel staff will help you choose a great one. We went to a wonderful Italian restaurant called CASA.

The rooms are basic and the same as any Sheraton Four Points. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The elevators are very slow but not a real problem.

The staff are amazing. They are all friendly and helpful. The front desk staff greeted us in a warm and friendly way and even the cleaning staff would say hello and greet you with a smile.

This is a lovely location close to the waterfront. All the rooms have good views but the ones facing the water are the nicest.

I would certainly stay here again. The location is wonderful, the staff is great and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NortherngirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robsty, Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thankyou! Our staff are going to love what you had to say about them! We pride ourselves on treating our guests as guests in our home and comfort is paramount! Come back to us! We want to change "average" to outstanding! We are up to the challenge!
Warm regards,
Rob Yellowley
agm@fourpointskingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Business travel can be such a drag with the routine of lack lustre hotels. So not much was expected when I checked in to the Four Points. Lobby was the status quo beige, cheap tile, wood laminate and ok hotel staff. Elevator kind of tired and old looking - so I didn't expect much when I entered by room. Then it hit me -- not only was the comfort factor there with soft cushy beds, the decor was top notch, giving the room, and the hotel for that matter, a renewed breath of style, design and overall "wow". The bathroom was reno'd to be of great style, the towels and linen of good quality with flare, and the furniture pleasing - plus the wi-fi, TV and radio all new. Yes, I know appearances can mask a lot of failings, but when status quo is the norm, it's kinda nice to experience something pleasing. Plus the tradition of delivering a newspaper each morning is still around, where other hotels are stopping this - very nice surprise. Now.. if they could only do something about changing the lobby.

Room Tip: if you want a view ask for a room on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudtravelsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robsty, Manager at Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thankyou for your wonderful compliments and for your suggestion regarding our lobby. We are constantly looking at ways to freshen our impression and, having completed our guestroom and corridor renovations in 2010/2011, we continue to put our eye on other areas of the hotel. We look forward to "WOWing " you again soon!
Stay in touch!
Warm regards,
Rob Yellowley
agm@fourpointskingston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
0.2 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Kingston - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
900 reviews
4.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kingston Highway 401 / Division Street
0.2 km away
Confederation Place Hotel
Confederation Place Hotel
#29 of 37 in Kingston
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston

Property: Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston
Address: 285 King St E, Kingston, Ontario K7L 3B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price range (per night): $181 - $324
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Kingston is located near the world-famous 1000 Islands, Fort Henry, Grand Theatre, K-Rock Centre, and Queen’s University. All our guest rooms offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. Make yourself at home with access to our newly updated heated indoor pool or work off stress in our state-of-the-art, 24-hour fitness centre. Catch up with work or connect with friends and family using our free Internet. Then, head back to your guest room for a great night's sleep in our Four Points Signature Bed. All of our accommodations offer picturesque views of Kingston or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points Hotel and Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Hotel And Suites Kingston
Four Points Hotel Kingston
Four Points Kingston
Kingston Four Points
Four Points Hotel And Suites Kingston Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing