We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Casilda House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casilda House B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunalley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at Casilda house with my hubby for a night when we visited Port Arthur recently. We simply love this place. Very pretty house. We got the room with windows facing the waterfront. Unfortunately, we didn't spend much time in the room in the day as we stayed at Port Arthur for the historic ghost tour.
What we love about Casilda house:
1) Kathy and Tony are the most amazing hosts around. Extremely friendly and considerate. We were felt bad that we made them worry unduly for our safety as we didn't inform them that we will be joining the Port Arthur ghost tour (last minute decision). Kathy even tried to reach me on my mobile phone which unfortunately had no signal on Port Arthur!!
And their family dog... pretty and friendly!
2) Fantastic breakfast! We felt like king and queen coz' we had the entire breakfast spread to ourselves.
3) Room was very nicely decorated. Bed and pillows were nice and soft. Spacious and clean. Had a good night's sleep.
4) Really well decorated living room, dining room and kitchen! I love the stove. Looks really classic.
5) Location. Quiet. By the water front.
6) Real value for money.

What more could one possibly asked for?

If I had more time, I would have stayed on to chit chat with Kathy for the whole afternoon. She's just so... NICE.

And if I ever return to tassie again, I'm going to stay with her for a week. Maybe she will teach me how to make some fruit jam and preserves... yummy.

Room Tip: ask for the water front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGlobe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Kathy and Tony are to be commended for restoring this beautiful cottage. Everything seems to have been considered. We were fortunate enough to have the whole cottage to ourselves. Tony was preparing the final touches on our arrival including the log fire. There was port or sherry available to enjoy after dinner having used the fully equipped kitchen with gas cooker. I can't recall seeing gas cooking in recent years, everything beng replaced with ever so safe and ever so slow electric cooking. The cottage is right on the water with available kayak (which we did not use unfortunately). Cooked breakfast was fantastic! Home made bread, home made jams, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and, what was really terrific, Kathy had even sought vegetarian sausages for our special request. This was greatly appreciated. The kids loved playing mini tennis game as well as the extensive playground right next door. I would unreservedly recommend and want to go back! 

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Just wonderful. Must be one of best B&Bs in Tasmania. Great value for what you get - refurbished house, extremely comfortable bed, clean ensuite, run of the kitchen, cooked breakfast, use of kayaks, holiday tips from extremely friendly and helpful owners, waterfront location, roaring fire in communal area at night, complimentary port & sherry, and more.

Highly recommended.

Don't miss dinner at the Dunalley Waterfront Cafe if there on Friday or Saturday night - book ahead and remember last orders at 7.30!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My Mother and i spent a fantastic 2 nights at Casilda House. From the moment we arrived, we were served delicious home made scones with jam and cream by the lovely host Kathy. Casilda House has been beautifully restored by her husband Tony. A beautiful old house with three lovely rooms. We stayed in the room with a queen and single bed. Everything was just like home, with a kitchen to use if wanting for quick meals and yummy home made cookies with every assortment of tea you could want. Breakfast was of equal quality with home made bread, yoghurt, cereal and a cooked breakfast, home made jams and juice, tea and coffee. Tony lit the fire to warm our room as it was a little cold and wet in Dunalley when we stayed. Dunalley is only around a 30 minute drive to Port Arthur and surrounds so this is an ideal place to stay. The local hotel and the Dunalley fish market served great seafood meals for our evening meals. I would highly recommend staying here, Kathy and Tony are the loveliest hosts, down to earth and genuine and we wish them well with Casilda House.

Room Tip: All rooms were comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent only one wonderful night here and Tony & Kathy went over and above to make us feel at home. The room was clean & tidy with great water views. The b'fast was huge and made with love. They have a large range of teas available which went down a treat with the home made cookies. The evening was enjoyed by a port or two by the fire place.

Great value for money and nothing was too much trouble - they even gave us the left over bread to have for lunch. It's like staying with mum and dad when you haven't seen them for a long time. Thanks very much Kathy and Tony.

L & L Gold Coast

Room Tip: get the water one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazzaGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casilda House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casilda House B&B

Address: 18 Imlay St, Dunalley, Tasmania 7177, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Dunalley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunalley
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casilda House B&B is now closed permanently as from April 30th, 2016 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casilda House B&B Dunalley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing