We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casilda House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casilda House B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunalley B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at Casilda house with my hubby for a night when we visited Port Arthur recently. We simply love this place. Very pretty house. We got the room with windows facing the waterfront. Unfortunately, we didn't spend much time in the room in the day as we stayed at Port Arthur for the historic ghost tour.
What we love about Casilda house:
1) Kathy and Tony are the most amazing hosts around. Extremely friendly and considerate. We were felt bad that we made them worry unduly for our safety as we didn't inform them that we will be joining the Port Arthur ghost tour (last minute decision). Kathy even tried to reach me on my mobile phone which unfortunately had no signal on Port Arthur!!
And their family dog... pretty and friendly!
2) Fantastic breakfast! We felt like king and queen coz' we had the entire breakfast spread to ourselves.
3) Room was very nicely decorated. Bed and pillows were nice and soft. Spacious and clean. Had a good night's sleep.
4) Really well decorated living room, dining room and kitchen! I love the stove. Looks really classic.
5) Location. Quiet. By the water front.
6) Real value for money.

What more could one possibly asked for?

If I had more time, I would have stayed on to chit chat with Kathy for the whole afternoon. She's just so... NICE.

And if I ever return to tassie again, I'm going to stay with her for a week. Maybe she will teach me how to make some fruit jam and preserves... yummy.

Room Tip: ask for the water front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGlobe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Kathy and Tony are to be commended for restoring this beautiful cottage. Everything seems to have been considered. We were fortunate enough to have the whole cottage to ourselves. Tony was preparing the final touches on our arrival including the log fire. There was port or sherry available to enjoy after dinner having used the fully equipped kitchen with gas cooker. I can't recall seeing gas cooking in recent years, everything beng replaced with ever so safe and ever so slow electric cooking. The cottage is right on the water with available kayak (which we did not use unfortunately). Cooked breakfast was fantastic! Home made bread, home made jams, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and, what was really terrific, Kathy had even sought vegetarian sausages for our special request. This was greatly appreciated. The kids loved playing mini tennis game as well as the extensive playground right next door. I would unreservedly recommend and want to go back! 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Just wonderful. Must be one of best B&Bs in Tasmania. Great value for what you get - refurbished house, extremely comfortable bed, clean ensuite, run of the kitchen, cooked breakfast, use of kayaks, holiday tips from extremely friendly and helpful owners, waterfront location, roaring fire in communal area at night, complimentary port & sherry, and more.

Highly recommended.

Don't miss dinner at the Dunalley Waterfront Cafe if there on Friday or Saturday night - book ahead and remember last orders at 7.30!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

My Mother and i spent a fantastic 2 nights at Casilda House. From the moment we arrived, we were served delicious home made scones with jam and cream by the lovely host Kathy. Casilda House has been beautifully restored by her husband Tony. A beautiful old house with three lovely rooms. We stayed in the room with a queen and single bed. Everything was just like home, with a kitchen to use if wanting for quick meals and yummy home made cookies with every assortment of tea you could want. Breakfast was of equal quality with home made bread, yoghurt, cereal and a cooked breakfast, home made jams and juice, tea and coffee. Tony lit the fire to warm our room as it was a little cold and wet in Dunalley when we stayed. Dunalley is only around a 30 minute drive to Port Arthur and surrounds so this is an ideal place to stay. The local hotel and the Dunalley fish market served great seafood meals for our evening meals. I would highly recommend staying here, Kathy and Tony are the loveliest hosts, down to earth and genuine and we wish them well with Casilda House.

Room Tip: All rooms were comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noels43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent only one wonderful night here and Tony & Kathy went over and above to make us feel at home. The room was clean & tidy with great water views. The b'fast was huge and made with love. They have a large range of teas available which went down a treat with the home made cookies. The evening was enjoyed by a port or two by the fire place.

Great value for money and nothing was too much trouble - they even gave us the left over bread to have for lunch. It's like staying with mum and dad when you haven't seen them for a long time. Thanks very much Kathy and Tony.

L & L Gold Coast

Room Tip: get the water one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazzaGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunalley
16.8 km away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
28.4 km away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
23.9 km away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Abs by the Bay
Abs by the Bay
#2 of 2 in Taranna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
18.7 km away
Norfolk Bay Convict Station
17.5 km away
Masons Cottages
Masons Cottages
#1 of 4 in Taranna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casilda House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casilda House B&B

Property: Casilda House B&B
Address: 18 Imlay St, Dunalley, Tasmania 7177, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Dunalley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunalley
Price range (per night): $100 - $140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casilda House B&B is now closed permanently as from April 30th, 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casilda House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casilda House B&B Dunalley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing