We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Professional and Hospitable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Scarborough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Professional and Hospitable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

The staff at this hotel were nothing less than professional and hospitable. Their genuine care for our team was evident when they initiated calling neighbouring restaurants to make dinner reservations for 40 people, without hesitation. When that didn't work, they arranged delivery of a large meal to their freshly organized meeting room, at the perfect time for our team dinner. The rooms were comfortable, clean and fresh.
All of this and more, for a very reasonable price.
I had the opportunity of staying here the very next weekend as well. Again, without hesitation they were able to provide me with not only a room, but it was upgraded without question, to suit my needs.
The Super 8 Cambridge is undergoing some renovations, but this was not obstructive or hindering to the guests whatsoever.
Other larger hotel chains should take lessons from the staff at this Super 8.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2patient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    89
    94
    57
    76
See reviews for
111
79
45
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I needed a quick place to crash before a very early meeting in Waterloo and decided to give the super 8 a try. I was greeted by friendly staff and after a bit of conversing told me they would give me one of their newly renovated rooms.

I was impressed. I ended up reading a few reviews on my laptop about the place after checking in (yeah I was bored) and I couldn't believe how many negative things were said about the hotel. I liked the way management responded to the 2009 era comments and I must say there has been tremendous improvements. The room is clean, towels fresh, and a spotless washroom. To top it off there is FLAT SCREEN TV'S!!! Which is very unusual for hotels in this price range. It's obvious there has been major renovations. I took a peek down the "employees only, construction zone and it was clearly a hallway left over from the previous management. Yes I can understand why there were negative reviews, but those areas of the hotel are closed off. Everything thats open to the public is clean and well kept.

The lobby is actually quite impressive and the staff was all friendly.

I was really impressed with breakfast, lots of variety and more then enough to get your day started. I usually skip continental breakfasts since i'm not a fan of cereal but this breakfast had lots of variety.

I ended up making a bit of small talk with the manager and he told me the reason they bought the place is to clean it up and change it's image. They're doing a good job and I really would focus on the reviews that were posted recently and not the ones from 2009 and earlier.

The place is right off the 401 so it's a no brainer for the quick in / out stays. They are currently renovating their restaurant / bar but they have some watering holes nearby in case your looking for a night cap ;)

Plenty of shopping and stores around, close to a wal mart in case you need to stock up on goodies for the road.

Next time I have early meetings in Waterloo I will be basing myself out of the super8.

Good job guys, keep up the hard work!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelsRboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

A family medical emergency had brought me to Ontario and when all was well I left for the Cambridge area. 3 Nights of disgust. First morning a hooker was knocking on the door looking for Ricky!! Second day I moved a chair and found a blood soaked towel and when I reported it they did nothing. I would think a new room would be in order. Third and thank God the final night women screaming and horrible crashing and smashing noises from some other room. This was the WORST experience ever. Do not EVER stay there. I am traumatized for life and would never stay in ANY Super 8 again as long as I live. I purchased my own linen and a bottle of Lysol spray just to sit in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macattack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Easy access to 401 and shopping malls. Beds & bathroom very clean (shower hot & plentiful). Enjoyable continental breakfast. Outdoor pool clean, refreshing and a real bonus. Although the hotel is experiencing some renovation pains, the management and staff are more than accommodating: they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. I very much enjoyed my weekend there, am eager to return soon, and would highly recommend this motel to anyone who appreciates cleanliness, comfort and value.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dietenheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were on our roundtrip through Canada on vacation with young kids. We booked the Motel on Internet so we had to stay there. Our kids walked over the carpet wearing socks. After 10 minutes the socks becam dark, so that carpet hasn' t been cleaned for months. The bedspread had a lot of spots, which you don't want to know where they came from. In the morning the cleaning staff lined up at the coffe machine keeping the customers from getting coffee. This cleaning staff did not take their work seriously, which might be the reason for the "clean" rooms. On the toast in the breakfast room there was mildew. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtraveller068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.1 km away
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
0.3 km away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Cambridge
Comfort Inn Cambridge
#8 of 10 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area

Property: Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area
Address: 650 Hespeler Rd, Cambridge, Ontario N1R 6J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Price range (per night): $78 - $95
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Super 8 Hotel Cambridge
Super Eight Cambridge
Super 8 Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo Area Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing