We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day. Long lines though.”
Review of Calypso Water Park

Calypso Water Park
Ranked #380 of 4,623 things to do in Ontario
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: About 22 miles / 35 km east of Ottawa Ontario.
Reviewed 17 October 2018

I took 4 kids aged 15, 13, 10, and 8 to Calypso. We had a fun time, though some of the lines were long and it was a bit crowded (even though it was a rainy day, so I can't imagine what it would be like on a sunny one!) Different kids liked different parts of the park but there was really something for everyone. The 13 & 15 year old went around on their own as there were lots of lifeguards. That said, we all enjoyed the lazy river and the wave pool together.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso P, Manager at Calypso Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you for your comment, we appreciate all customer feedback. Hope to see you at the park in 2019!
Best Regards,
Calypso Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wave pool"
in 178 reviews
"lazy river"
in 96 reviews
"all ages"
in 48 reviews
"bring your own"
in 53 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 51 reviews
"kongo expedition"
in 27 reviews
"life guards"
in 23 reviews
"food and drinks"
in 18 reviews
"heated water"
in 16 reviews
"season pass"
in 15 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 12 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 26 reviews
"lounge chairs"
in 13 reviews
"kids area"
in 11 reviews
"arrive early"
in 12 reviews
"shaded areas"
in 12 reviews
"wait times"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Best waterpark around! My husband and I have been going twice a year for the past 3 years. So much fun, and very affordable. The food court is your typical food court, hot dogs, burgers etc, but doesn't cost a fortune like typical amusement parks. Parking is affordable as well, $10. Overall, the park is awesome. So much fun, and I believe the longest I've ever waited was 20-25min on a busy day :)

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Aliesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Extremely crazy busy. Line ups were ridiculously long. Typical theme park waits. Rides were fun, but not really worth all that waiting. Food was very average. Gift shop was just sad, so sad. You have people trapped out in the middle of nowhere! At least put SOMETHING interesting in the gift shop - you might actually make some money there - duh.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Winelover5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Calypso has an endless number of water attractions for kids of all ages, and for adults as well. One can easily spend an entire day there and then do it again the next week and not get bored.

There are picnic tables set up all around the park and you are allowed to bring your own food. (No liquor or glass containers, of course.) If you chose to buy, there are several restaurants.

A few tips to make your trip more enjoyable ... and less pricey .. .

1. Buy a season pass. These passes are great -- particularly if purchased the previous year. (Calypso puts them on sale towards the end of August of the previous year.) Just going three times pays for the discounted season pass; four times for the regular price season pass.
There's a also a season parking pass that is the equivalent of the amount for 5 visits.
We've purchased season passes every year for the past three years and go about 10 times over the summer.

2. If you aren't getting a season pass, buy your tickets on-line. The line up for tickets at the park can get quite long.

3. Go on weekdays if you can. This is an incredibly popular water park any day of the week but particularly on weekends.

4. Try to arrive early. Some rides have very long line-ups and the best times to get on them are just after the park opens. It's also the best way to ensure you get a picnic table.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Brought my two kids this summer in July. We had a blast and was able to get them to do a few water slides for the first time.
They both loved the wave pool and lazy river. We ate dinner and enjoyed it. It was not that expensive. We had brought a lunch so that is a cool way to save some money. The gate price is a little expensive for a one time visit not to mention that you have to pay for parking. If you buy a pass and go at least five times, I believe you would get more for your money. Overall, a great time and of you do everything in the day, well worth it. Great employes too!!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Water Park also viewed

 
Smithville, Ontario
 

Been to Calypso Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing