We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Inn(Pictou)(Great Value!)
USD 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braeside Inn(Pictou)
USD 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterview Rooms & Restaurant(Pictou)(Great Value!)
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lionstone Inn(Pictou)(Great Value!)
USD 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolan's Inn and Suites(Pictou)(Great Value!)
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evening Sail B&B(Pictou)(Great Value!)
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
174
100
28
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
100
28
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthumberland straitdining roomfire pitpaddle boatsnova scotialog cabinqueen suitebeautiful locationfree bikesadirondack chairsmotel styleprivate beachseafood chowderfamily vacationgames roomspent nights hereappointed rooms
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We arrived mid-afternoon for an overnight on our way to PEI. The welcome was warm and inviting. Our queen suite was 14A with a porch and two chairs overlooking the Northumberland Strait - simply lovely. We were served dinner in their "fine-dining" area, and the food and wine were just that after they closed the doors to the bar. Service was impeccable. Wish we had booked for longer.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Northumberland Strait
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, Guest Relations Manager at Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin suite for just under $200 a night (including tax). The cabin was adequate for the cost but the real value was in the community features such as the lake with a canoe and paddle boat, the ocean and sandy beach with a fire pit, and all the other entertainment that was included. The experience was well worth the higher cost.

Pros: Rooms was spacious and clean, the sun porch was an excellent addition to the room especially with all of the rain. The beach was very close, the lake was close, the wood burning stove in rooms was unique and reminded me fondly of my childhood visits to my granparents' house. My kids loved these new experiences with little touches such as the wood burning stove, the fire pit on the beach, and the games pit and heated outdoor pool. I appreciated the very friendly staff and the community feel, while still feeling like I had a lot of privacy.

Cons: The price is a bit high, the walls are a bit thin (We could hear our neighbour's talkkng), there should be a small confectionary to buy hot dogs, buns, bacon, eggs ect as they provide a BBQ but it's a 10 minute drive to a grocery store in the town. Kitchenette is a little small and under equipped for a family. A bit hard to find and not well marked along the way.

This is a fantastic property for families

I would come again if the price was right. I believe we got a discounted rate as we were attending a wedding so I am not sure what it usually costs to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank alaskan_skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Check in was simple. My home for 3 nights was room 14A a great one bedroom cabin with a deck overlooking the Northumberland Strait.
The grounds are fantastic and there is so much to see and do. From watercraft (kayaks/canoes) on their own lake, to swimming in pool or at the private beach, bike rides, games room. It's a great place for a family holiday or if you are like me and traveling alone it's a great place to relax. There are many places to sit and enjoy the views.

The restaurant is lovely, so much variety and the staff are all amazing. Thanks particularly to Staci, Emma and Lisa.
The weather was perfect while I was here and I was a bit sad to leave.

Pictou Lodge is close to Caribou, where the ferry leaves to go to PEI and you can see the ferry going backwards and forwards from the Lodge.

All in all a great place to stay for anyone.

Thanks to all the staff for making my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank zootout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, Guest Relations Manager at Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Outstanding facilities and unbelievable views of Northumberland Strait. Wonderful activities like biking, swimming, kayaks, canoes and walks on the beach. Great main Lodge with super restaurant. Staff are service focused and maritime friendly. Thanks. Pet friendly too!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Weldon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, Guest Relations Manager at Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Loved our stay here! From greeting to departure our experience in pictou county wonderful and this resort a great base! Had great cabin with stunning view of ocean and cape Breton highlands in distance. Enjoyed live music in lounge on first night and great meal in restaurant on second with view overlooking pond. Also explored trail to provincial park and surrounding area where enjoyed local brewery, Jost winery, and lavender farm all of which fantastic! Totally relaxing stay and the view a real bonus!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison H, Guest Relations Manager at Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments; we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews