We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Verandah B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Verandah B&B
Ranked #14 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were in Halifax for a few days and chose this B&B for it's proximity to family. The room was adequate in size, though very warm with little ventilation and too much light, all resulting in a rather uncomfortable and abbreviated sleep. The owner is quite unpleasant and we were disappointed with our stay. This B&B is not recommended for those with children.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LittleCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

You have to stay here!! My husband and I found by chance this little slice of heaven in the big city , we were making last minute reservations when a woman at the Lord Nelson reffered us to this Bed and Breakfast. The owner was sweet beyond words, we have never received such amazing hospitality!! She even offered to pick us up! The rooms were gorgeous!!Complete 5 star without the price, the sleep was amazing as well as the food!!We ended up over sleeping and she made breakfast for us anyway and enjoyed an amazing chat!! There were others there who had taken advantage of her kindness, and when I saw the previous reviews I couldn't believe it!!! She is a sweetheart and we will always remember this place!! Recommend it to everyone!!Our friends from Ontario also enjoyed it too!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polkadotluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Despite a great location we were subjected to a bait & switch similar to what we now read in other reviews. We called ahead and reached Joan on her cell and she promised us the Blue Room. when we arrived she didn't remember who I was or speaking with me, she had been at a party when we called and said someone was already in the Blue room. But....she had the loft, which was en suite and turned out to be $30 more. Fortunately we were there for just one night and will be the only night we will ever stay at the Verandah.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sachertort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

When we arrived at the check in time, Joan had left a note on the mailbox to call her cellphone when we arrived as she was out. Fortunately, one of the other guests informed us that there was parking in the back as there were no signs to indicate parking for the B&B.
We were disappointed to be designated to an alternate room than we had been promised - it was not as clean as we would have hoped, and the bathroom was on the next floor up. The toilet did not flush, and the door lock did not work as my husband found out when another guest walked in on him.
The bed was hard, and so short that my 6 foot husband's feet hung out the end - not a good night's sleep.
We met very interesting guests at breakfast - it appeared that the guests who were staying longer than our one night had been given the room we had beenexpected. The meal was a little awkward when Joan reprimanded, and I think embarassed, a guest for picking up the cheese, and then just left that block of cheese on the table.
It would be interesting to see what improvements could be done with some tweaking of manners, food handling, and house repairs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed at The Verandah for 4 nights. The bed in the pink room needs to be replaced, it should have been done years ago. The bathroom is just a closet in which a shower, a toilet and a washbasin have been squeezed in, I wouldn't ask my guests to use it. Fresh towels are a privilege. You would presume that Joan would tell you to park the car in the back, but she didn't, so we parked in front of the house. Unfortunately, we had a 25,00 dollar fine. She said that she had wondered if we would get a fine as she hadn't realised that we might have brought a car. We had just come from the airport, walking??? She is rude, she doesn't make you feel welcome, but you feel barely tolerated. She talks about her grandchildren, their hockey games/baseball etc. and her mortgage problems.
We are from Europe and have spent 3 weeks in Canada. We have met many people and have stayed in quite a few b & b's. We have only met friendly, hospitable people. Joan is the exception, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank disappointedPictou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
1.7 km away
The Pebble Bed & Breakfast
30.3 km away
Snowflake Manor Bed & Breakfast
7.9 km away
Sal's Bed & Breakfast By the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Blue Forest Lane Bed and Breakfast
6.1 km away
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
4.6 km away
SeaWatch Bed & Breakfast
SeaWatch Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 22 in Halifax
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandah B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandah B&B

Address: 1394 Edward St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range: $98 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Verandah B&B Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing