We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful Day Touring Halifax and Peggy's Cove

We easily connected with Lem Smith when we disembarked from our cruise ship. This was a private... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Susan F
,
Cocoa, Florida
Halifax Memories

We had 12 people, so we had two vehicles. Picked up at the cruise ship port by Dennis and David... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Frankie32309
,
Tallahassee, Florida
Read all 290 reviews
  
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
258
19
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
19
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maple syrup lobster peggy's cove titanic cemetery cruise ship driver guide sugar shack highly recommend this company his knowledge mini van interesting sites nova scotia light house wonderful trip take pictures own pace small group
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We easily connected with Lem Smith when we disembarked from our cruise ship. This was a private tour of about 4 hours around Halifax and out to Peggy's Cove. Lem was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Halifax and understandably proud of his community. He told us many very interesting stories of Halifax including "the rest of the story" about the Halifax explosion, the history of Holy Cross Cemetery, the final resting place of victims of the sinking of the Titanic and the city's ongoing relationship with their sister city of Boston and more. We had a quick and fun stop at Ryers Retail to learn about lobsters and enjoyed our time in Peggy's Cove. Lem was very considerate about checking in with our group of four sisters to be sure we were comfortable, did we need to stop for food or bathroom breaks, etc. He gave us every opportunity to take pictures and we returned to the ship with a great feeling about Halifax and the people and lots of nice photographs to share with our family and friends. We visited five ports on the cruise and this was my favorite tour thanks to Lem.

Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your tour experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 12 people, so we had two vehicles. Picked up at the cruise ship port by Dennis and David. We loved the intimate and personal tour with our two fantastic tour guides. Not only did we see the major sites: Halifax, the Citadel, the Titanic Cemetery, Acadia Maple Products, and Peggy's Cove, but they took us to see some of the local sites. They recommended a great little restaurant for lunch. The time we spent with Dennis and David, was the highlight of our cruise, thank you both for the memories. Frankie A.

Thank Frankie32309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in port for one day on a Canadian Cruise. Doug picked us up early right outside the terminal. We packed in a ton of sights, meet some great local people and had a fantastic local lunch. Doug was so easy to talk to and you felt like you were spending the day with an old friend. We toured the beautiful coastline, the Titanic cemetery, the Citadel, and my favorite Peggy's Cove. Also, a great lunch at The Finer Diner. I recommend this tour for anyone.

Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your tour with us and the local area around Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a cruise and stopped here for the day. We spent the day with Doug. Titanic cemetery, we stopped at a lady’s home she has an art gallery and allows people to take pictures on her dock. She was a very kind women and it was a delight to meet her. Then we went to Ivan’s home. Ivan is an author, painter and all round great guy. Then we went to a little local place for lunch Lobster rolls of course. Peggy’s cove and a little touring after lunch to complete my favourite port of the New England cruise. Doug had the day all planned stopped when we wanted him to, (for pictures) He ate lunch with us we were a group of 6. To make this tour exceptional I would get a bigger vehicle. A mini van for 6 adults plus the driver is just to crowded and uncomfortable.

Thank 358shannonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your email and we do have seven passenger SUV’s plus the driver. We are very pleased you enjoyed your tour experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met at the dock with a "pink sign" as promised. Only surprise was the vehicle--a taxi as the tours are associated with Casino taxi. The tour covers the highlights of Halifax including a trip to Peggy's Cove where we had lunch. Lot's to see and a lot of opportunities to take pictures. Our guide was not a Halifax native but had a reasonable knowledge of the history and highlights.

Thank BW_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. All of our drivers operate their own taxi or limousine. Halifax Tour Guys trains all of our driver/tour guides to do the listed tours on our website ourselves. They all have many years of experience in the industry and are very good at their jobs.

We pride ourselves on being an equal opportunity employer and seek out the best driver/tour guides in the industry. All of our drivers are well trained and knowledgeable about where they are going and the local history that our guests are seeing. We are pleased that you enjoyed your tour with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were picked up at the cruise ship port by Al. Al was a fantastic tour guide. He took us all around Halifax, the Citadel, the Titanic Cemetery, then out to Acadia Maple Products, then out to Peggy's Cove. He recommended a great little restaurant to eat lunch. He had a step stool for my mom to get in and out of his mini van. This was invaluable due to her mobility issues. Al is a wealth of knowledge about the area. He's a native and knew so much. We really enjoyed our day with Al. Highly recommend this tour with him.

Thank PeachFamily7686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review . We are so very happy you enjoyed your tour with Al.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I want to send a sincere THANK YOU to you all and to Al the guide/driver we had! We had a great time with him, he was very professional and we never felt rushed at the Swiss Air 111 memorial for my girlfriend's aunt, he even helped us find her name!!! To my understanding Al is a native to the Halifax area and his love, knowledge and appreciation definitely shows! My 81 year young mother has a hard time getting around sometimes especially when it's cold and rainy as it was and I thank Al for his help with her. Again Al, THANK YOU from Trent, Sofia, my mom Barbara, and my cousin Keith for everything including the fabulous local lunch spot and its connection to Flight 111... I will highly recommend you all to anyone!!!

Thank trentbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour experience in Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pick up at the dock after we got off the cruise ship. Met by Terry Jesty and proceeded on our tour. Terry was very informative and personable. Toured the town of Halifax including the gardens and the cemetery where the Titanic people are buried. Proceeded to visit the Peggy's Cove Lighthouse. It was raining the entire time we were there but we still enjoyed the fall color. I would recommend Halifax Tour Guys if you want a tour of Halifax.

Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your tour experience despite our weather in Halifax. Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a good tour didn’t get to see what we wanted to see, just had to go on what he called “his tour”. Not worth the money or time. Do an Uber to where you want to go and spend the amount of time you want to

Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michelle,
So sorry to hear about your experience in Halifax. We have not been able to find your booking with our company. Could you please send us the date of your tour, the driver/tour guides name, and the cruise ship you arrived on. Once we receive this information and verify that you traveled with us, we can investigate this matter promptly and take the appropriate action.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately we did not have the awesome experience on our tour that so many others have had. It was not terrible but could have been a lot better. It was a dreary, rainy day but we were still excited to see beautiful Nova Scotia. Our driver, Araya, was waiting for us outside the gates as promised. We were not asked where we wanted to go on our tour or given options on places to stop as other reviewers have mentioned.

The first issue was my own mistake in not realizing the "6 person passenger van" I reserved was actually a minivan with a bench seat you had to climb in and out of. Since I was traveling with four family members who are age 70+ and none of us are small people, this was problematic. I really don't see how three normal or larger size adults could have gotten in there ... but since two of our group had decided not to go along my husband took back seat duty and off we went. Future bookers of 5+ might want to consider paying more for a larger vehicle if they want a comfortable tour.

Our driver was a very nice and polite man. He is soft spoken and those of us behind the front seat had a hard time hearing him. We asked him to speak up several times but he couldn't maintain a louder voice. We headed toward Peggy's Cove first. There was a lot of time where he said nothing unless questioned and we wondered what we were seeing out the windows. One of my main issues is that I stated quite a few times that I would like to stop somewhere and get pictures of the lovely fall colors. Araya would say he knew a good place, or he would stop ahead, or would stop on the way back through, etc. but never did.

Peggy's cove was very pretty even in the rain. Araya told us a bit about the history of Peggy as well as the plane crash 20 years ago and Titanic rescue attempts. He did not mention there was a gift shop and we missed that. We stopped for lunch and went back toward Halifax, stopping at the maple syrup place. Again, no luck getting a stop in for photos of the fall colors.

Araya seemed more enthused about Halifax itself and shared some good information about the history of the area, especially the 1917 ship explosions that wiped out the city. We drove by the Titanic area of the cemetery and he was nice enough to go out in the rain and take a photo for my mother. We also drove through Citadel Hill. Our driver also took us to a market where my mother could buy some post cards since we missed the shop at Peggy's Cove.

I was pretty upset when it came time to pay and we were told he could not take payment by credit card, cash only. Our reservation clearly says credit cards are accepted. He offered to take us to an ATM instead. We pooled our cash and had just enough for the $300 fee plus a tip, but wiped out our on-hand money which was not planned. The company should make sure the customers know this is a cash only tour to avoid situations like this.

Overall, we really did like Araya but found the tour to be average, more like we had a driver than an involved and interested tour guide for much of the 5 hour ride. Nova Scotia is stunning and we enjoyed the views as we drove around, but we left feeling a lot was missed.

Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your email. In speaking with Aryra he informed us that his credit card machine froze when he attempted to us it and that the issue was resolved before his next tour.

Why when you went to Peggy’s Cove, seen the lighthouse and were not told about or seen the gift shop and restaurant there we do not understand. Stopping for photos is also something all our driver/tour guides do each and every tour. We are investigating what happened on this tour and will correct the issues brought up to prevent this from occurring again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews