We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Nova Scotia”
Review of Halifax Tour Guys

Halifax Tour Guys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: All Tours are customized to your Particular Interests and Time constraints whether Shore Excursion, Convention Tour or a longer stay. Part, full and multi day tours available. All Guides are Vetted. They are Local, Knowledgeable and Experienced. Vehicles are clean, well maintained and smoke free. We provide baby and toddler seats, step ups for ease of getting in and out of our larger vehicles. Recommended as a Travel Destination by National Geographic, Lonely Planet, Fodors, Frommers, Conde Nast, CNN, Huffington Post. Come See for yourself what they are all writing about! Experience first hand a taste of our Maritime Hospitality and visit some of the highlights of our beautiful province.
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Myself and five girlfriends used Halifax Tour Guys for an 8 hour tour on October 7, 2017. Our driver was Lem. Lem was very informative and he knew everything about everything, we learned such a lot about this part of the province. Nothing was too much trouble, if we wanted to stop and check out something he would stop and allowed us to take our time. I can say we really did get our money's worth and would highly recommend this company.

Thank renee_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"maple syrup"
in 29 reviews
"lobster"
in 72 reviews
"peggy's cove"
in 194 reviews
"titanic cemetery"
in 21 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 47 reviews
"driver guide"
in 12 reviews
"sugar shack"
in 5 reviews
"holland america"
in 8 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 8 reviews
"nova scotia"
in 21 reviews
"burial site"
in 3 reviews
"interesting sites"
in 3 reviews
"mini van"
in 3 reviews
"light house"
in 3 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"own pace"
in 4 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We had Ed for our guide and he was fantastic. We pre booked the Halifax/ Peggy's cove tour. We began at the Titantic site, and learned so much, the off to Acadian Maple, then to Peggy's Cove, plus more. It was a great way to see alot, stop for photos ad learn from a local. Thanks Ed. I would definetly recommend this company.

Thank Ssgeogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Our tour started with gardens, which we chose because of the time of year to just drive around and spend more time elsewhere. The next stop was the Citadel. Because it was Canada's 150th anniversary there was no charge to go in. My husband love history. We found our way into the area that had trenches like what would have been in the war, of course. There was an volunteer dressed up in a war uniform that answered any questioned you had. It was very interesting. There were other people around dressed in different uniforms. We could have spent more time here if we were allowed. The next stop was the cemetery with the Titanic graves. These were the bodies that were taken out of the water. Our guide was very informative about this area. Then out to Peggy's Cove. Go to the second floor of the gift shop to get your passport stamped. We did stop at a Maple shop along the way. We bought the maple covered peanuts, Yum.

Thank macska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The tour and the tour guide were excellent. We had one minor issue in that we had booked a Kennebunkport followed by Peggy's cove light house combo tour. Unfortunately they canceled our reservation and switched it to a similar combo tour but it reverse order. This resulted in one of our party members missing the Kennebunkport tour as he had a previously schedule appointment with an old friend. In Halifax ours defense they tried to contact us but we were at sea on a cruise and unable to get the message. I wish they could have made the decision at least a week ahead so we could have known; but we made it work.

Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Joe,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this for us. Regarding your minor hiccup, Kennebunkport is in the State of Maine USA, and Peggy's Cove is in Nova Scotia Canada, about 45 minutes from Halifax. I am not sure who changed your Port schedule but Halifax Tour Guys would not be responsible for that kind of intenery change.
Lem Smith Halifax Tour Guys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We booked directly for our day in port off a cruise ship. Our driver was waiting when we disembarked, which was a positive. He showed us a few sights around the city, briefly, and made a quick stop at the cemetery where Titanic passengers were buried. After that, we drove out to Peggy’s Cove (pretty view but overrated tourist trap, imo), stopped at a fort, and generally drove around the countryside for a bit. Could have been a good tour if our driver had been more interesting and enthusiastic - he was mostly silent unless we asked a direct question.

Thank charcoll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxTourGuys, General Manager at Halifax Tour Guys, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and am sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your tour with us. If you could tell us the driver/tour guides name, we will correct the issues mentioned in your review right away.
Lem Smith, General Manager Halifax Tour Guys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halifax Tour Guys also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Halifax Tour Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing