We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like growing up...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emera Oval

Emera Oval
Ranked #22 of 134 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just like growing up...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Not to often, especially this mild winter, do you have the opportunity to skate outside. The weather here in Halifax is changing dramatically. The ice on our lake didn't freeze thick enough to skate on this year, but the next best thing is the manmade ice oval on the Halifax commons. Family fun for FREE. Always a great time to be outside skating, just like we always used to do growing up.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Itching2Travel_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    25
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Healthy Outdoor Exercise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a wonderful place to go for outdoor ice skating. Very friendly atmosphere. You can rent skates and helmets free! If hungry, try the Beaver Tails they are delicious!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The oval is very fun and has a awesome Beavertail stand.

WARNING watch out for the fat starling that lives under the fish and chips truck.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice free activity in Halifax for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We've been to the Oval a few times with our kids and enjoy skating there. It's nice to be able to skate for free and the kids enjoy it. We also have them in skating lessons which are also free. It tends to get very busy on Saturday and Sunday afternoon and parking can be tricky. If you can suggest going during the week which should be much less busy. We live a bit outside the city but if we lived closer (within walking distance) would definitely take advantage of the facilities more often.

They have skate rentals available on site. If you have your own skates and plan to get them sharpened before going suggest dropping them off the day before at any of the retailers that sharpen skates. I went to Sportchek a few times and they were backed up with many pairs of skates to do. Good chance you'd have to wait an hour or two at least if not more.

It can get pretty cold with the wind chill on some days. It would be nice if they planted some trees to give some relief from the wind. Dress accordingly and bring mittens, hat, etc...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank djpositivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to spend time with your friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Emera Oval is located at the corner of North Park Street and Cogswell Street. It is an outdoor skating ring, skating is free for everybody!
It is open for public skate seven days a week. However, there are maintenance and school skating breaks. The skating schedule is available on their website http://www.halifax.ca/skatehrm/calendar/index.html
Skates are available for borrowing (free) (You will need to show a single piece of ID when borrowing). Hokey style skates and figure skating skates are both available. You can also borrow the helmet for your children (helmets for adults were not available at the time of our visit).
There are outdoor food courts located near the skating arena (e.g. "Fish and Chips"). They offer different kinds of fast food and hot drinks.
Those who can not skate, or would like to improve their skating skills can take skating lessons. Lessors are free of change (registration is required).

We really enjoyed our time at the Oval! It is a great place for a date, fun and interactive!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olga-Dzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emera Oval also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
 

Been to Emera Oval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing