We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
58
66
28
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
66
28
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peggy's cove continental breakfast front desk bayers lake waffle machine large tv bed pillows big box stores shopping district great wifi budget hotel indoor pool short drive to downtown east coast trip would stay again room was clean convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

A good place on the edge of town to use as a base for a visit to Halifax. All the modern amenities with laundry facilities and a indoor swimming pool. A continental breakfast is included. Good staff and a convenient location.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank BradHulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

HI BradHulton,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We love knowing our guests enjoyed their stay with us and we are glad you found our location convenient for all your needs. We will make sure to share your comments with our team and we hope you have the chance to come back in visit us again sometime in the future.
Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Room was quiet and clean except for the bed runner which was badly stained and GROSS. (We removed it from our bed!) For some reason they seem to be conserving toilet paper as we had less than half a roll for the 2 days we were there. Hotel is a short drive from downtown Halifax and in the midst of lots of big box stores, restaurants and movie theaters. Nice ground floor pool for the kids and a very good buffet style breakfast. Free parking is also a bonus!!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggybear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi huggybear21

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate knowing what our guests have to say as it enables us to concentrate on areas of concern so thank you for letting us know about the bed scarf. We would rather have it off the bed instead of on and stained in case we were short a few.

We are so sorry about the lack of toilet paper. We have advised our housekeeping staff to make sure there is a full roll when cleaning occupied rooms so that our guests do not run out as they would not know exactly how many people may be in the room. So thank you for bringing that up to us!

We are glad you found our location convenient for your needs and enjoyed the pool and complimentary breakfast we offer our guests.

Thank you again for all your comments and we hope to see you again sometime soon in the future!

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

I was going to be staying with a friend arriving the next day. I walked into the room and I was hit with a rancid smell. There was no way my friend would be able to stay in the room. It was the shower curtain. While wet it smelled fine. The next morning I saw one of the cleaning staff in the hall and asked them to replace the curtain.

The carpet was stained, but the bed was clean and very comfortable. It was hit and miss with the breakfast. The plates always had a bit of leftover food on them. No milk one day, no yogurt the next. When checking out the customer in front of us was making a complaint. I think about not being offered special pillows or something. Anyway, the desk clerk made sure everyone knew she was angry about having to refund the other customer and was very curt with us.

I will be staying in Halifax many times over the next few years but I won't be staying there again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank westfarmclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Westfarmclose,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns with regards to your recent stay with us and we are very sorry to see it was not a great one.

It's comments like these that enable us to focus on areas of concerns. We are not sure about the "smell" but we did write up a work order for our maintenance supervisor to check into this for us.

Lately, it has been difficult with our suppliers in getting orders as many items are short shipped due to shortages from the companies so we do apologize for this and we hope things will be back to normal soon.

We certainly do apologize for the curtness from one of our guest service agents as this is not acceptable and certainly not in line with providing customer service. Please know this has been brought to her attention and has been dealt with accordingly.

We truly appreciate your comments and we do hope you will give us a chance to make things right with you should you decide to give us another try.

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

This hotel was convenient and easy for us to find after a day of driving from New Brunswick and to different parts of Nova Scotia. The room was comfortable and clean and my son really enjoyed the pool in the morning before we checked out. It was really nice on a rainy morning! There were a LOT of kids at this hotel so it was a little loud. Breakfast was standard hotel breakfast fare with cereal, a waffle machine, etc. It was a little crowded, there were lines to get the food, and it seemed like they were running low on things. We had to clean our table before we sat down. But we were full until dinner so it did its job! Staff was friendly. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018


Hi Kristinem

We value all your lovely comments and thank you for taking the time to write them! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable and clean and the kids certainly love being able to burn some energy in our pool.

It can definitely be a little loud with so many families travelling but that is what summer vacation is all about and we hope the evenings were a bit quieter.

Breakfast can certainly be a little rough to get through with so many people coming down at once and the person trying to keep up with the demands is doing the best they can to maneuver around and fill up what needs to be filled. We are glad this was a good start to your day that kept you full until dinner time.

Thank you again for all your comments and we hope you will be back soon to visit with us again!

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Honestly, nowhere near worth the cost. This place clearly invests no money into upkeep, amenities or housekeeping. Even upon checkin, you could see into the manager's office which was completely disorganized and filled with junk. Fine - I'm sure this happens everywhere, but close the door so your guests don't have a negative first impression. The room was not very clean at all, especially the bathroom with long swaths of black hair (no one in my family has black hair or anywhere near as long of hair). The fridge was likewise not very clean, or very cool. The AC was unacceptably loud and not very useful. The bathroom smells of mildew. The pool was cloudy when we went in - yuck. The breakfast was sad - we arrived well before 9 (breakfast is until 10) and the area was both filthy and basically out of most things. The chafing dishes were all empty and had a dirty rag tied on top of them so you wouldn't burn your hand - ick. They only had decaf, apparently, and when one mother asked the gentleman on breakfast duty if they could refill the batter for the pancakes since there were no other hot options left, he went to the woman at the front desk to let her know and she gave the world's biggest eyeball and sigh. Then she grabbed the batter mix and disappeared to who knows where to prepare it. The other breakfast items looked like they were just sitting there for who knows how long and touched by how many hands - the stir sticks, unwrapped tea bags, etc. Pass this one by. Spend a bit more money and stay somewhere clean and maybe closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018


Hi Jenwpg


Thank you for taking the time to write on review on Trip Advisor as we appreciate all the things our guests have to say. We do apologize for the “extra” items in the office and the first impression this may give our guests. This does happens when we have delivery day and/or when our guests would like to store their items when they check out. We try our best to accommodate these requests so they can enjoy their day around the city before they leave on their late flight.

We are so sorry about the disarray of the breakfast area and to be truthful we under staffed and pulling people from other positions to help out which is great but they just may not know how to do some things when asked so this of course leaves a bad impression

With regards to your room, thank you for letting us know so that we can bring it to the attention of our housekeeping department as this is not the normal for us so we want to make sure we fix this issue right away.

Without comments such as yours we would not be able to address concerns so thank you again for letting us know.

Kimberly Clarke, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews