We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveller rating
381
415
215
88
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
415
215
88
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seasons restaurant underground parking hospital rate front desk staff hot tub dalhousie university beds were comfortable downtown core buffet breakfast close to downtown king bed public gardens nova scotia atlantico commons qe2 surgery
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel has good location to downtown area but this hotel is not very up to date .parking was provided for a fairly good price for being in the city would recommend this hotel if you keep your expectations to a medium level have eaten at the restaurant there and been satisfied with the food and service

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel has undergone a number of renovations of the last couple of years with over 80% of the guestrooms being totally refreshed. We really appreciate your business and hope that you will return to us in the near future.
Best regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We were excited to stay at the hotel as it was closely located to the Citadel and to a children's park, but once we arrived we were highly disappointed in this shabby hotel. It was unclean, the service was below standard. For example one morning the housekeeper knocked on the door told us that they were too busy for clean all the rooms and shoved some towels at us. The bathroom was scuzzy and grimy. The swimming pool is extremely deep and not good for children to use. As well the floor around the pool is consistently covered in water making it a slipping hazard. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillmw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you so much for providing constructive feedback regarding your recent stay. I am extremely sorry to hear that your experience was not positive. The issues you describe are absolutely not to our standards and certainly unacceptable. We would love the opportunity to make things right and would be very appreciative if you could contact our Guest Services Manager, Kyle Stillwell at your earliest convenience.
Again, my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.
Best regards
Colleen Forward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Although it is slightly out of the way compared to other downtown hotels, it is still very accessible to downtown core via bus or taxi, and it is generally less expensive than other DT hotels because of location. Location is still fine however. It is still very close to other important locations, like Citadel Hill, Garrison grounds, Halifax commons, Halifax Infirmary, and others. Very nice hotel, nice lobby area. Parking area very accessible to hotel lobby. Friendly staff. Great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. As you mentioned, we are in a great location to take in all the attractions that may Halifax a fantastic destination. We also have a wonderful complimentary limousine service that takes our guests to points in the downtown, available Monday to Friday from 7:30am to 9:30am and again from 5:30pm to 7:30pm.
Thanks again - hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We arrived late, 7 pm ish, after 10 hrs driving and the desk guy says that we have to wait while he checks with housekeeping,.
We had made reservations months ahead, even called 2 weeks ago to make sure all was good.
Go on up , he said , room is ready.
We go up to a dirty room, hair in tub, dust on window frames , dirty carpet & room-service card filled out by last guest.
Went back down to the desk & they tell us they have another room, just refinished, just made up & nobody had used it yet. We were tired& frustrated & took the room..701, we had reserved Executive suite.
We had to call the desk for;
Drinking glasses,coffe cups, bath robes, coffee, water, light bulb&more.
Every time that I talked to desk or staff, I asked about the curtains...Why no curtains, is there not supposed to be curtains? Everyone said they would send maintenance up,as they did not know if curtains were supposed to be supplied.
They ended up not charging for the last day , I guess that's better then nothing, but I not happy.
Did not feel that this was 4 star hotel,

Room Tip: I do not how to get a good room, reserved executive & got less then regular.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank 2291stinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

I am so very sorry to hear that your stay was not keeping with our usual standards. The issues you have outlined have been addressed with our team. We pride ourselves on meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations and it seems we did fall short during your stay. I do hope that you will give us another try. We would love to give you a more positive experience that that is in line with Atlantica's commitment to quality and service.
Best regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We booked a caa rate at this hotel and that turned out be a great deal. Approx 122/nite included a king room, and buffet breakfast for 2 at seasons dining room.
Although maids were too busy during the day to refresh room we just needed a couple clean towels.
A great place to stay for a weekend get away!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wadeclements1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSAtlantica, Director of Sales at Atlantica Hotel Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thanks so much for the 5 star review. We really appreciate you sharing your experirence with your fellow travellers.
Hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Colleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews