We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel ina great locatino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel ina great locatino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at the Cambridge for a week with the family, booked 2 adjoining rooms, breakfast and parking underground included which is very convenient. Had to amend our reservations, delayed and shorten our trip and that was no problem. Rooms are like all reviews says, well appointed.

Where this hotel is located is the biggest advantage of this hotel,
Spring Garden Rd is just a short walk up the street for shopping (Lululemon, American apparel)
which made daughters and wife happy. Wide selection of restaurants if you go towards downtown. We found the Fireside just around the corner off Spring Garden excellent.

Price, location, value ratio is excellent for Halifax.
All the staff was openly friendly, Wednesday TGIF was a nice surprise in the lobby.
The only complaint I had was that pillows were actually TOO big and fluffy, staff brought some others no problem. My wife who is actually very picky and wanted first to stay at the pricy Prince George was pleasantly surprised and loved her stay. Will go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnydip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Good morning johnydip...... Lulu & American Apparel??.... Daughter and Wife?? WOW pricey!....lol.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    655
    163
    63
    49
See reviews for
599
826
121
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Cambridge Suites overlook the Citadel and is very handy for all downtown ameneties. The rooms are large and clean and provide microwave, plates, cups coffeee and tea facilities. They also supplied washing up liquid. There is a launderette in the basement with very efficient dryers (for a change) During the week people might find breakfast from 0630 to 0930 a tad early but on the weekends this is extended to 1030.
The cleaning staff are helpful and will bring you a kettle to supplement the coffee machine if you ask them. As a tea drinker I found this very helpful. Parking in the underground car park is $16 a day and whilst some may think this expensive, remeber it is in the centre of the city. Breakfast is a continental type but boiled eggs and home fries are also available.
There is also a business centre and free WiFi in every room.
I stayed for a week and will certainly use it again next time I'm in Halifax.

Room Tip: The ice machines are on floors 1,3 and 5 but are well away from the rooms so noise is no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmunnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Hi nmunnery and thanks for the great "plug". We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel offers a bit of everything! The rooms are spacious, the Continental Breakfast is superb, the view (if one is lucky enough to get a room on the front of the hotel) is breathtaking in the evening. A plus is valet parking....we stayed there for a family reunion and had a wonderful time! we visited in the breakfast room, in our rooms, and in the city at large! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is conveniently located downtown as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnookumsNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thanks SnookumsNovaScotia........ You had me at Snookums...... thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Cambridge Suites is a steady commodity in the business sector. It is well located; close to business, restos and clubs. To be onset I was expecting a tired hotel
Due to its age but the cool, chic new look is good in Hali ands he staff were professional too. I did not have any issues so I cold not test their ability to respond, that seems the best way to do things!
The rooms are fairly large and the bed was very comfy.
The exercise room is quite well appointed but some equipment could use maintenance or replacement. There is also sauna, whirlpool and a roof deck; nice!
The bar is cozy and on Wednsday nights they have a "Meet and Greet" with free food and bevvys; a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor facing The Citidel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1of4bysea, General Manager at Cambridge Suites - Halifax, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Good morning Jason C and thank you for your thoughts on our property. I love wednesday's for the very reason you mention. Socializing with our guests might just be one of the best parts of my job. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had to stay at the Cambridge Suites last year during some remodeling of our house. We loved the location, the staff were very professional and helpful, and the room/suite was great. We have since recommended it to friends many times. It's locally owned and operated, which is nice. They take dogs too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCSHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Halifax

Property: Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Address: 1583 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price range (per night): $160 - $262
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Suites - Halifax 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge Suites Hotel is located in Downtown Halifax across from Citadel Hill. The rooftop patio offers a beautiful panorama of the city and you're within walking distance of many downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature comfortable beds in spacious living areas and kitchenettes to make you feel at home. Complimentary Continental breakfast helps start your day while our sauna, spa tub & fitness area lets you wind down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Hotel Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing