We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best accommodation in Yellowknife”
other travellers have booked this property
Guest House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest House
Northern Lights in front of cabins Bed Guest House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Guest House
Northern Lights in front of cabins
Bed Guest House
Kitchenette
Peregrine falcon nest Prelude Lake
Queen Bed Guest House
Northern lights
Northern light
Northern lights over Prelude lake
New fire pit area
Bathroom
Northern Lights over Guest House
Snowmobiling/Ice fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveller...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best accommodation in Yellowknife”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 10 nights in this super cozy cabin, around a half hour/forty minute drive from Yellowknife. So nice to be out side of the city area where you can truly appreciate the outdoors.

The cabin is perfectly equipped and Dave & Pauline are great hosts. Lots of local knowledge and some really great chats with them and their neighbours!

Short walk to Prelude Lake, which has some great easy walking trails with viewpoints at it. We sat down at the lake and watched the aurora show quite a few of these nights, but you can also watch it on the cabin grounds around the fire pit.

Even better that the cabin is off grid, so there are some quirks to it. Those who are less inclined to help the environment expect some noise for the water pumping if you are heavy on water usage. Didn't bother us one bit and if anything it makes you more savvy to how much you really do need to use.

Definitely recommend and would stay again if we were back in Yellowknife area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funsister
Sydney, Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy, clean private cottage was exactly what we ordered”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 enjoyable nights at the country cabin, the owners were very nice and helpful. The cabin feels like new and I liked the ambiance of country living, especially with the fresh smell of pine. We made use of the bbq for dinners each evening and would have enjoyed the fire pit and comfortable outdoor seating except for the rain.
The bed was comfortable and despite being "off the grid" we had sufficient water and light in the cottage.
We walked the Prelude Lake trail and it was well worth the effort. The entrance point is next door to the cottage.
This location is 30 km from Yellowknife and there are no stores nearby, so remember to bring your groceries with you.. This would be the perfect place to enjoy the Northern Lights on a clear night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin is charming.
Liked least: Not a lot to do on a rainy day.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen G
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place for a great Yellowknife experience!”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this cabin for a 3 night stay in Yellowknife. I couldn't imagine a more perfect setting for our outdoor adventure vacation we were going for. The cabin was very well equipped, but allowed us to feel connected to nature, which went along perfectly with the hiking/outdoor vacation we were aiming for. It's a short 30 minute drive outside of the town of Yellowknife itself.

The cabin itself is small, but has everything 2 people would need. We took advantage of the outdoor area as well, playing board games on the patio at night, and enjoying the firepit while waiting for the northern lights to come out (which they did!). We did end up driving the short distance to the lake to view the northern lights better, but you can definitely see them right from the cabin.

The owners were very helpful and accommodating! I would absolutely recommend this cabin to anyone, and if I am ever in Yellowknife again myself, I would absolutely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lungyan
HK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pick for northern light viewing”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Simple but clean and well maintained cabin, friendly Dave, spectacular aurora!! I'm glad we pick the Cabin for our first aurora encounter. LIKE! ^.^

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda P
Cantley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the start, I felt that this cabin was my home during a 2 week stay in the YK area. Although I had a late night arrival, it was very easy to find and get settled in on my own. Dave and Pauline are gracious hosts, and the neighbourhood bonfires in sub zero temperatures were great fun. There are some easy hiking opportunities very near the cabins and good birding even off-season. Not to mention seeing the spectacular Aurora Borealis right by the cabin. I walked/drove on the Prelude Lake ice-road .. how cool is that ... but I am already thinking of returning in the summertime to see the lake when it is not completely frozen over.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and their neighbours.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing