We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
DeKotzenhof(Wakkerstroom)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laventaba Guest House(Wakkerstroom)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
67
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringwent out of her wayfeel welcomewell equipped kitchensitting areathree nightsenjoyed our stayliving roombeautiful spotsmall decanter of sherrykruger npovernight stopeach morninggreat accommodationquaint townwood burning stovefresh milk in the fridge
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We stayed three nights as a couple in one of the Sheds. Out of all the places we stayed, the sleep quality and peaceful rest here was beyond comparison. The hosts were accommodating, friendly and allowed their guests privacy. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast spread each morning catered for every ones needs with a wide variety of choices on the menu. The bird life is amazing and a walk down to the river or dam is worth it. The people in the quaint town were all friendly and there are plenty of places to eat and relax. Worth a visit or just a place to rewind and re-charge.

Room Tip: The Sheds unit 1 was the best
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetlands2015, Manager at Wetlands Country House and Sheds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Charmaine

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the very near future a it was such a plasure hosting you both.

Rita
WETLANDS COUNTRY HOUSE & SHEDS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We really loved our stay at Wetlands Country House and sheds where we stayed for two nights to bird in the area. We had accommodation at the sheds, which was tastefully and beautifully decorated. The room was equipped with a large, comfortable bed, a kitchenette, large luxurious bathroom and a sitting room area. Marilyn was very welcoming and extremely helpful and put on a lovely breakfast spread.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were to return to Wakkerstoom, and would thoroughly recommend to anyone.
Easily one of the best and most comfortable places we stayed at during our three week trip around South Africa.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank rhiguil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Marketing Manager at Wetlands Country House and Sheds, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Rhiguil,
Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with at Wetlands Country House, and certainly do hope that you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Decided to pay a visit to Wakkerstroom on our way to Botswana, & were recommended to stay over in Wetlands Country House & Sheds.
The location & settings is truly magnificent.
Our room very comfortable with view of dam
Breakfast 15/10 excellent
Management & staff extremely freindly with a lot of good humour.
Will most definetly return & experience what it would be like in summer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetlands2015, Manager at Wetlands Country House and Sheds, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Good Morning Mike

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to hosting you both again in summer.

We aim to please and it is good to know that our guests are happy.

Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

So, Wakkerstrom probably isn't the town for everyone but we loved it! And Wetlands was a great little guesthouse. There were three of us and they suggested we each have our own room. We were good with that as the prices were reasonable. It did take a minute to find as GPS was a little bonkers but we persevered! We were greeted by Marilyn and she showed us to our rooms. Each of us had our own fireplace and the fixings to make coffee, tea and there was sherry for the evening. Big bathrooms with a shower and separate bathtub. Breakfasts were good and there was a nice variety. Rita and Marilyn were sure to tell us about the things we didn't recognize and it helped us try things we might not have usually tried. Rita was super helpful in booking and my mom enjoyed communicating with her via email. As I said, Wakkerstrom probably isn't for everyone but we are hoping to visit there again one day soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mishmash0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetlands2015, Manager at Wetlands Country House and Sheds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We so enjoyed having you here with us and it was lovely meeting such pleasant guests in person.

We hope to see all three of you again especially in summer when the veld flowers are in full bloom and our gardens green and colourful.

It was so pleasant chatting to you mom and the two of you.


Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The room was very tastefully appointed, complete with wood burning stove. There were tea and coffee making facilities complete with fresh milk in the fridge and a small decanter of sherry complete with glasses. The bed was very comfortable and had a dual-controlled electric blanket. The bathroom was spacious with a stand alone bath and separate walk in shower. Everything was spotlessly clean and breakfast was superb with home made granola available.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mooreberyl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M, Marketing Manager at Wetlands Country House and Sheds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad that you had such a pleasant stay at Wetlands Country House & Sheds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews