We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife’s 70th Birthday”
Review of The Gypsy Tea Room

The Gypsy Tea Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gypsy Tea Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 406 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 29
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic Murray Premises building in the heart of downtown St. John's The Gypsy Tea Room can accommodate large groups or the most intimate of diners. Our menu includes local favourites, European cuisine and unique daily features. We are open for lunch and dinner as well as a delicious brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Our private dining room is available for wine tastings and dinner or a meeting with colleagues. The Gypsy Tea Room also offers a state of the art conference room with Smart Board, data projector and video conference capability. Our courtyard restaurant can seat 120 people with an open air kitchen and bar. Sit back and relax in a resort setting...Let us take care of you.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Awesome food...everything absolutely delicious. Just wish I had ordered blackened salmon...it’s my favorite. Only one complaint...for 70th Birthday celebration, maybe a complimentary drink or a small dessert with candle?? Little things matter!!

Thank HRA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our winter wedding was here and it was absolutely beautiful. Janice and Doug were informative and they had taken care of our every need. The staff was very professional and our service was excellent. The Gypsy Tea room had surpassed our expectations and the food was delicious!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank candacewinter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thanks for your review Candice. Myself, Janice and the service team had a great time planning and executing your wedding. You guys were a pleasure to work with and your guests were fantastic.Hope you see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I love the atmosphere and decor. The staff are very pleasant, friendly and very helpful. The food is amazingly tasty. I recommend the blackened salmon. This place is my favourite restaurant in St. John’s. And as a local, I have been to most downtown. Highly recommend.

1  Thank JKR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We certainly have seasoned employees who are happy to cater to our customer's needs. The blackened salmon is certainly a fan favorite. It will not be leaving our menu any time soon.We are happy to have your repeat business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We experienced exceptional service from Doug and Scott when our group of 25 people reserved the cellar room for our corporate event. Everything was seamless and the food was delicious! We'll be back for sure!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PrettyPolly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear you had an excellent experience. We take great pride in what we do here at The Gypsy Tea Room. Hope to see you soon! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Cool place, great atmosphere, amazing food. Would eat there again if we visit St. John's in the future.

1  Thank mdmoore18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant F, General Manager at The Gypsy Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

thank you for your review. Glad you had a chance to stop by while you were in town.
Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gypsy Tea Room also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Gypsy Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing