We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bannerman House

Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front
Living Room Main Floor looking aft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Front
Living Room
Main Floor looking aft
Main FLoor Looking Fwd
Kitchen
Bedroom 2nd level - full size bed
Bedroom 3rd level - queen
Bathroom - 2nd level
Bathroom - 2nd level
Ensuite - 3rd Level
Ensuite - 3rd Level
Backyard
Backyard
Fall has Arrived
Bannerman Park Swimming Pool
Bannerman Park Splash Pad
The Loop at Bannerman Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. John's, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CoolCanuc...
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! ”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Bannerman House for a conference and absolutely loved it! So close to the conference hotel but also to downtown and all kinds of great local attractions. This home is beautifully kept and the host, Bonnie, was very accommodating and helpful with any questions or requests. I would recommend this home to anyone looking for a place to stay in St. John's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBB3
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This place is GREAT, and the owner is even better...”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures do not do this place justice, nor do the reviews sum up how great Bonnie the owner is.... We traveled to Newfoundland for a family wedding and were there over Christmas, and Bonnie put up a beautiful Christmas tree, and decorations for us, and even had welcome treats for us.. The place is on a quiet street, yet near everything and a nice walk to great restaurants and pubs.... Bonnie your the bestest.. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How much the owner cares...
Liked least: Nothing, as the little things do not matter when the experience is so great..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2015
Thank you, Kelly and Brady, and thank everyone for the kind reviews. At the beginning of this year, we debated on renting the house full-time or as a vacation rental. We definitely made the right choice. We love our " little house on the corner " and hope that everyone who stays feels it's charm. It's been a pleasure being a small part of your travel experiences. We can't wait to get the 2015 season started.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wojttt
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best value/money ratio in St. John's”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I was looking for a reasonably priced place with two bedrooms in St. John’s. Based on previous reviews I picked up Bannerman’s place and I don’t regret my choice. This is probably the best value/price ratio you can get in St. John’s. You get two bedrooms (each at different floor) and a cosy and spacious lilving room with fully-equipped kitchen. For those who doesn’t like cooking or don’t have time to do so – there is plenty of restaurants just around the corner (mind you, this place is in the very city centre).
Beds are comfortable and big enough and so are the bathroom. The smaller bedroom on the second floor has a little bit bigger bathroom; the larger bedroom (on the third floor) gets with a smaller one. Water was hot any time of the day or night. There is a washing machine + dryer, microvawe oven and a standard oven, toaster, coffee maker, iron etc. etc. – this is a fully equipped two-bedroom house.
Even though we did not have a chance to barbeque outside in the yard (it was December when we were there), I guess this would be a lovely experience.
Last, but no least comes the customer service. Our plane was late (we arrived at 1 am) and the manager/owner put into the fridge more than enough food for the two of us (cereals, yogurts, fruit salad, milk etc.) to make through the night. Thank you Bonnie!
To sum up, this is probably the best place in St. John’s you can get within this price range. I really recommend it!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for highlighting so many aspects of our home in your review. We truly appreciate it and hope we can repay your kindness the next time you find yourself in St. John's. Thanks again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne F
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed for 4 nights 18-22 sept. Absolutely lovely house with everything you could possibly need. Location is excellent a short 5 min walk to the centre. Small store close by,it is signed as a butcher shop but has a good selection of groceries. We had a light breakfast in house. Bonnie was a dream to deal with always contactable and home is a credit to her. I hope she has continued success in renting it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna R
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at the home with spouse and grown daughter and fiancée. Were in St John's for our son's wedding. Wonderful stay, great location. Worked really well for the groomsmen to come over and have pictures taken and get finally ready for the big occasion. Bonnie you are doing a great job, keep it up, will certainly recommend to friends. Only improvement would be an ironing board - at least we couldn't find one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The set up, cleanliness
Liked least: footsteps could be heard from above to lower bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing