We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
89
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room third floor top floor great hosts parking pass newfoundland hospitality three nights home away from home front of the house comfortable bed exploring st breakfast each morning lovely room breakfast was excellent hot breakfast george st walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This was our first stay at a B&B. Cantwell House was just what we were hoping for! Every room was absolutely beautiful. Everything that we could possibly need was available in each room. Audrey was a perfect Hostess, very informative & accessible. Our Breakfast was the "topping on the cake"... incredible! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cantwell House to my family and friends. Thank you Audrey....for sharing your beautiful home! This was the perfect ending to our Newfoundland vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtfrederiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantwell H, Owner at Cantwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Thank-you for your kind words! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! And that we were your first B&B! We put much time into keeping our rooms bright and full of character and we're happy you thought so as well! Thank-you again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here three nights to start our tour of Nfld. Audry the owner was extremely helpful suggesting places to visit and recommending were to eat. Room #2 was excellent and had all the comforts of home. The common room oñ the upper level has a wonderful view of Cabot Tower on Signal Hill. This B&B is within walking distance to Water and Duckworth Streets. Caution, if you have walking issues, as the walk up and down from the Cantwell House to the entertainment area is very steep. Ask Audry and she will provide you with a less incline route. The breakfast each morning were wonderful and filling. We plan on staying here again on our last day prior to heading home.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 02retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I was disappointed with this B and B. The problem was with the quality and pricing of my room on the top floor.

No en-suite rooms were available for booking when I stayed, so I booked one of the 2 rooms with a shared bath on the top floor. You would not know it from the website but there is a considerable difference in these 2 rooms. One is small - so small, the hanging space for clothes is a pipe affixed to the wall with a wooden shelf above (no room for a cupboard). There was no towel rack which means towels are left in the bathroom (I guess you just hope no-one uses yours). If you have much luggage, you'll be constantly stepping around it.

The other room was larger and definitely nicer with a small fridge (always handy for multi-night stays), cupboard/closet, desk & chair, 2 bedside tables, wooden clothes rack and lounge chair (and not backing onto the bathroom, so quieter). Oh, and it even had tissues!

What really annoyed me was that Audrey charged me the same rate for 3 nights in the plain, small room as the rate for the infinitely more comfortable room. I asked her and she confirmed I was paying the same price. At just under CAD$150 / night (inc tax), the room I booked should have been of the standard of the larger room given you are paying quite a lot for a room with no bathroom. The smaller room was absolutely not worth $150. A good proprietor would be charging less for the lesser room.

There is no pricing on the website, and no information about the difference in those rooms. To be allocated a spartan small room while being charged the same amount as a larger, better room was insulting and not, I believe, the way a good host behaves.

On the positive side, the B& B is pretty central and Audrey provides a permit for street parking. The cooked breakfast is not bad and Audrey was good with accommodating dietary requests.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IsabelleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantwell H, Owner at Cantwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Cantwell House. We are a historic bed & breakfast - all of our rooms vary in terms of size, character,amenities and price. We advise all guests of room details and pricing prior to confirming any reservation. We are confident that we are competitive, offering equivalent, or in many cases more, value than other accommodations – including filling hot breakfasts and fresh homebaked treats, with an atmosphere of ‘home away from home’.
In your case, you booked our smallest room and only double bed. Your room was renovated in 2015 to refresh, brighten and create more space (we think the exposed custom made clothing rack adds an interesting design feature and is a creative use of limited space). Best wishes for your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed at the Cantwell House B&B for four nights. It was one of the best B&Bs we stayed at while in Newfoundland. It is a cute jelly bean row house that has been a B&B for over 20 years. Audrey has taken over this B&B and has done a great job maintaining its good reputation. She was very helpful in answering questions regarding directions, sites and restaurants. Her breakfasts were different every day and very good...blueberry pancakes, toutons, moose sausages, homemade hash browns, cereals, and she will do her best to cater to your dietary requirements. The house has three floors. The third floor has a common room and a balcony overlooking the downtown area, the harbour and all the way to Signal Hill. The rooms are all decorated to suit the Newfoundland culture, but they are still comfortable, practical and have all the amenities. The rooms include wifi, television, hair dryer, refrigerator, big closets, desk and chairs, and the bathrooms are big and fully stocked with all the necessary items. There are great maps, pictures, facts throughout the house about Newfoundland. She has set up a little basket with fishermen hats, flags and a camera for you to take a picture of yourself somewhere in the house. She has them posted in the dining room. Great idea - we had fun with this. Audrey has freshly baked goods out during the day for the guest's indulgence - brownies, shortbreads and chocolate chip cookies. The location for this B&B doesn't get any better. It is a 5 minute walk to The Rooms, 5 minutes to the downtown area, 25 minute walk to Signal Hill and the Johnson Geo-Center, a 40 minute walk to Quidi Vidi, and a 15 minute drive to the airport. She has parking passes for her guests that allow them to park on the road in front of the B&B. This B&B is on top of a hill, which means if you are walking into town and back, there are hills to climb, but you can't avoid hills if you walk ANYWHERE in St. John's. The rates for the rooms are very reasonable considering the services provided and the location.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantwell H, Owner at Cantwell House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're also very happy that you had fun our polaroid idea! It's always nice to hear that people enjoy our breakfast. We like to keep it interesting and to also make sure that our guests get a little taste of Newfoundland! If you every make it back to Newfoundland again hopefully you will look us up! Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Audrey is a great host. In addition to the great breakfasts, she spends time with each guest assisting with their planning of their stay in St. John's. There is a great lounge which is great place to relax with a book or inside the glass doors or actually going outside on the balcony to view the St John's straights. Room has all the amenities you would want. Highly recommend the place

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank bruce_deb_farrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews