We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable place to stay, with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Notes from my recent visit (I checked out on Sept. 26):

- A reasonably good facility. One unexpected characteristic: The hotel was apparently built without air conditioning in the rooms, so they subsequently put in portable air conditioners. These are the size of a large suitcase, sit on the floor by the window, and have a vent pipe (the same as your dryer at home, about 4" in diameter) to transfer heat to the outside. The solution works, but arguably they should have instead put in through-the-wall A/C units.

- There aren't any PCs and printers available to guests. This isn't a problem unless you get to St. John's by air and leave the same way. In my case, I had to go to a Staples location about 15 minutes away to print out my boarding passes for my return flights. (If you use a smartphone for boarding passes, of course, no need for paper documentation.)

- No newspapers available at the hotel, but adequate shopping is available about 2-10 minutes away from the hotel.

- Very helpful staff facilitated connecting my tablet PC to the hotel's WiFi.

- Housekeeping seems okay.

- Dishes and silverware available on request. The hotel provides a kit in a plastic storage box. The rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster.

- Fitness center good for those of us who use the treadmill for walking.

- Limited continental breakfast available 6-10 AM daily.

- Location is about 5-10 minutes from the downtown area. I agree with the previous review that says it's a good home base for exploring St. John's and the Avalon Peninsula. (Take your GPS app or separate device.)

- Guest laundry available. $6 Canadian needed for each load ($2 each for soap, washer, and dryer).

- TV service is okay. The PBS network is available (unusual for any hotel), along with both Canadian and US cable news outlets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennW0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Glen, thank you for your great comments and review of your visit to our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and it sounds like the 'first impressions' were great. However, we apologize we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to provide the highest customer service, and we continually strive to improve our efforts. We have addressed your concerns with the facility, and we have shared the feedback with the management in an effort to have the future enhancement. Thank you for being our guest, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Place was clean, staff were fine. Large parking lot with lots of space. I had this eerie feeling that I might get mugged walking across it in the night. Not a thing I can say wrong with the property. Just didn't click with me

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank petesnow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased your stay with us was comfortable. It was good to have you here, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed here 10 days while exploring the Avalon Peninsula. A good location within walking distance of the harbor and close to the TCH. The kitchen is adequate with a small grocery/drugstore 1 block away and a supermarket/liquor store a 3 min. drive away. The free breakfast is well stocked and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with a view toward the harbor. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

It was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay Canada. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed many aspects of your trip, especially the cleanliness of our property and our location which was convenient for your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The place smelled seemed dirty and old. I couldn't get my stuff back left in room even though I could have picked up! Wanted closer to downtown seemed in a run down neighbourhood ....would not stay agaun

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Extended Stay
Thank lisadO5840UZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Lisa, we truly care about ensuring the comfort of all our guests, so I apologize that we fell short. We are extremely sorry for the odor and cleanliness issues you experienced while you were here. Your concerns have been relayed to our housekeeping manager and together we will make sure steps are taken so this doesn't happen again. I hope you and your family will give us another chance to prove we are committed to providing outstanding guest service.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Was not impressed with the amount of cigarette butts upon entering the front doors, Smell of smoke in lobby and just overall atmosphere was not pleasant. Staff, however, was very pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Extended Stay
Thank 341maryjaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We are very sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. We never want any of our guests to leave unhappy. We regret the smoke issue you encountered while you were here. We have asked our housekeeping staff to make sure this room receives a deep clean to remove the smell. We hope you and your family will reconsider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Ramada St. John's
#11 of 24 in St. John's
547 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Homeport Apartment Hotel
#12 of 24 in St. John's
191 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown

Address: 222 Lemarchant Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2H7, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe)
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $115 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms equipped with mini-refrigerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe St. John`s-Downtown Hotel St. John`s
Extended Stay St Johns
Extended Stay St. John's
St. John's Extended Stay
St Johns Extended Stay
Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing