We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
59
84
63
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
84
63
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenettemedical appointmentminute walkbar fridgeair conditioningtiffanymicrowavedowntownsttreadmillhousekeepingunitssurgeryjohnsmuffinsharbour
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed here 10 days while exploring the Avalon Peninsula. A good location within walking distance of the harbor and close to the TCH. The kitchen is adequate with a small grocery/drugstore 1 block away and a supermarket/liquor store a 3 min. drive away. The free breakfast is well stocked and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with a view toward the harbor. Recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

It was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay Canada. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed many aspects of your trip, especially the cleanliness of our property and our location which was convenient for your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

The place smelled seemed dirty and old. I couldn't get my stuff back left in room even though I could have picked up! Wanted closer to downtown seemed in a run down neighbourhood ....would not stay agaun

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Extended Stay
1  Thank lisadO5840UZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Lisa, we truly care about ensuring the comfort of all our guests, so I apologize that we fell short. We are extremely sorry for the odor and cleanliness issues you experienced while you were here. Your concerns have been relayed to our housekeeping manager and together we will make sure steps are taken so this doesn't happen again. I hope you and your family will give us another chance to prove we are committed to providing outstanding guest service.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Was not impressed with the amount of cigarette butts upon entering the front doors, Smell of smoke in lobby and just overall atmosphere was not pleasant. Staff, however, was very pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Extended Stay
Thank 341maryjaned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We are very sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. We never want any of our guests to leave unhappy. We regret the smoke issue you encountered while you were here. We have asked our housekeeping staff to make sure this room receives a deep clean to remove the smell. We hope you and your family will reconsider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

It was a little rough around the edges but a great value, convenient if you have a car, comfortable and I slept well. It was quiet and having access to a microwave, stove and fridge was really convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Extended Stay
1  Thank canningrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for including Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown in your travel plans. We are glad to know you liked your well-equipped room and had an enjoyable time with us. It was good to have you here, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The place was in a great location easy to get to. Came with breakfast staff was there to help. Building was in good standing and rooms came with their own kitchen and items were available if needed . Didn't like the beggers approaching us everytime asking for money as we got out of our vehicle nor the constant smokers at the front entrance but it doesn't seem to be the hotels fault. Pets are allowed for additional $30 per stay but you are only to stay in a certain area. Breakfast is included so is parking. Grounds seemed to be maintained and inside the building and areas are kept clean Beds weren't the best but overall experience not to bad would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Extended Stay
Thank W8016BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown. We are happy to know you liked your room with a kitchenette and that our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. It was a pleasure having you here, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews