We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local charm and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmoral Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral Inn
Ranked #13 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Local charm and outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Balmoral is located within walking distance of downtown St. John's, Signal Hill, Quidi Vidi lake (Regatta) and everything that this wonderful city has to offer ( pubs, restaurants, art galleries). The rooms are clean and spacious. There's cable tv in each room. Each room has its own private bathroom. The varied breakfast menu items are fresh and easily prepared in the modern kitchen. The quality of the service and the hospitality of the owners is what makes me want to return every time I visit!
Before booking a hotel room, consider what the Balmoral offers; an opportunity to live like at home!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
31
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in the GROUND floor private suite for five nights. Entrance was down five dirty steps, a cleaner landing then into the suite, down two more steps. The window was street level and the owners call this ground floor? Definitely not where we come from. The suite itself is very well appointed and decorated. Kept very clean but does not include breakfast. Owner explained when I questioned this " we only have eight chairs". A parking permit is included for on street parking, very helpful.The location on Queen's Road is with-in walking distance of all down town attractions, including The Rooms, Soeby's and a liquour store. St John's is a beautiful city and it's people so welcoming and friendly. This is a good apartment if you are on business or otherwise but do not expect the traditional B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakehuronsunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

My first time experiencing a bed and breakfast and I really enjoyed it. I stayed in one of the top floor rooms and it was nicely furnished with a very comfy bed. I was here on business meetings and so I was up very early each morning and I was able to get breakfast at my own time which was great. It is a very old building but it has all the modern amenities that you would expect from a major hotel. I really liked it and would love to come back again sometime. Thanks Kim and David for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Peanuts12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was a great choice for me. I was here on a conference and only had a short walk to the convention center each morning. My room was very clean and I had a beautiful view of the harbor. I would love to come back when the weather is warmer. The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mango7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at this inn. Just loved the view from my room. I was here on a conference and it was just a few minutes from the convention center. I will difinatly come back again in the summer to enjoy a little site seeing.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mango7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Inn

Property: Balmoral Inn
Address: 38 Queen's Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price range (per night): $197 - $260
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Center of Downtown, Balmoral Inn offers the following amenities: Air-conditioned large rooms, En-suite bathrooms, Ocean view, High-speed internet cable connections in each room, Remote control Color TVs. Private-phone numbers in each room, Room service, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your Balmoral Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing