We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best place to eat in St. John's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Sofia - CLOSED

Bistro Sofia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: If you're looking for amazing dishes, cakes and desserts at affordable prices, we are here at Bistro Sofia! Bistro Sofia offers warm, casual dining and robust bistro cuisine, in addition to an outstanding selection of house-made pastries. Make sure you save room for dessert!
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in St. John's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Bistro is our favourite place to eat in St. John's. We have had dinner there many times and find the consistency of the food to be exceptional. We love the atmosphere, service and quality. Pricing is very good. Desserts are the best!
Lunch is also great - if you can get a table!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bjwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    21
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent food and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Best desserts in town. Food is just excellent. But it is a bistro, so has more of a casual, coffee shop type of feel. Not as big portions as other places, but prices are a bit less and you will not leave unsatisfied!

Helpful?
2 Thank Beachlovah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Might be the only restaurant open during Christmas Eve...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

They offer lunch during Christmas Eve while most of other restaurants closed for holidays. But the service and food are not great. Understand every waitress eager to back home for Christmas and we ate and left right away.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Openyourheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food a bit on the pricy side but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

First time in St.John's like the atmosphere and casual but classy feel. I think they can improve on set up of tables especially the tables for two. I was by myself and had a table right by the door. The food was Very good, had the filet minon and had scallops for an appy. Nice glass of vino it was very good. Service very friendly. The dessert was too good to pass up took the cheese cake to go... It was yummy! definitely worth to check out!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MD00016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland and Labrador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kind of a Europen feel. Food & Service Very Good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife loved the pork. The duck that I had was about the best I've ever eaten. The server was very knowledgable about the selections and was very professional but, at the same time, was very friendly. The tables aren't cheek-by-jowel as in too many places. The background music was atjust the right volume to keep our conversations private without being over loud. I had a lovely shopka salad as a before, a glass of Septimo Dio with the duck (the vegetables, thankfully, were not cooked to mush), a nice dessert, while my wife skipped abefore, the wine and the dessert. Final price before tip was about $73. For those who care about such things, the decor was very nice. Oh, yes, one more bit of info: The owners are a Bulgarian couple who came here from Belgium, where they were chocolatiers, so be prepared to be tempted by the dessert offerings.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filterpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Sofia also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing