We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Mikes

Mikes
Ranked #191 of 273 Restaurants in Moncton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 July 2016

It was our first time going and we haven't gone back. We started with the bruschetta pizza rolls, they were doughy and undercooked. We had the chicken and broccoli Pennine and it was bland. Overall it was disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

This was actually out 3rd choice after the first 2 places had line ups out the door, we pulled in and the parking was pretty empty (around 7pm), when we questioned wether we should go in (empty lots don't look inviting, especially when everything else is jammed packed). The host was seating another couple ahead of us, returned for us and said he was going to get a booth ready he would be just a minute (I love booths) so that was a plus, he was very quick at seating us, our waiter was prompt, took our drink orders, at which point we were ready to order. The meal took about 15 minutes or so, which is par. I ordered the seafood casserole with veggies as a side. It was excellent! The waiter only came to check on us once which was fine. We are there to eat and to chat with each other. Not be asked every 2 minutes if we need anything, so for me, that is great! All in all. Not disappointed in our choice this evening :)

Thank Aqua101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone M, Guest Relations Manager at Mikes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

That's wonderful! We are so glad you enjoyed your impromptu visit :)
Please come back any time; our Seafood Menu is out until June 26 and there are 5 other plates for you to enjoy.
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comment, we are always happy to hear from our customers.
Simone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

As often as not when the missus and I decide to go to eat out simple, we will spread the tab to a second location for dessert and spot of wine. Allows the main dish to settle down whilst exploring other future and potential hangouts. It's a chance to see whether the national chain restaurants have made subtle changes to their menus or, for that matter, listened to their customers and changed their service techniques, but I digress.

Tonight started out with a bombed-out pub meal, so looking for a decent Apple Crisp with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream sounded like a reprise from the experience of a terrible meal at another location.

We had been here many years ago when I guess they had the real McCoy prepped and baked by someone who knew what they were doing. Sadly, no longer the case.

What we ended with was a previously frozen, nuked (industry term for microwave heated) rendition of something faintly resembling apple pie mix covered with anemic looking oats, saturated with cinnamon dust and a scoop of tasteless ice cream, no, it was iced milk. As for the wine - we're not going there...

Sorry guys! Not coming back until you find someone who can actually make an apple crisp. Call me - my recipe and prep time for 40 covers is 20 minutes, and your check average will go up!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChefRoyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Guest Relations Manager at Mikes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Merci de nous faire part de vos expériences actuelles et antérieures dans un de nos restaurants Mikes.
Nous comprenons que vous ayez pu être déçu de constater que d’une visite à l’autre, vous n’ayez pas eu la même expérience et que le dessert choisi n’est pas été le même.
Il se peut qu’un employé précédent ait décidé de modifier les recettes ou de choisir un autre fournisseur, mais cette pratique n’est pas acceptée par le réseau. Il est dommage que ceci ait occasionné une mauvaise expérience pour vous.

Nous sommes désolé de cet inconvénient et vous assurons de faire un suivis avec le restaurant afin de valider que ce dernier utilise bien les produits prescrit par la chaîne et que les normes de préparations soient respecter afin d’offrir un produit conforme.

Bonne fin de journée.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Went to Mikes last night for the first time and will not go back our server she was really good my friend had gravy all he could taste was salt I had a chicken burger that had a mayo type sauce on it and I have been up since 1 am throwing up so no will not go back

1  Thank carolallen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, Guest Relations Manager at Mikes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Hi Carol,

I am so sorry to hear that! We would like to follow-up with you at your earliest convenience. Could you please email us your phone number to contactmarketing@mikesrestaurants.com ?
Thanks,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

prices for what you get are a little on the heavy side.Lot's of choices but very average.Service is on par to other places.Menu is simple and diverse.

Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikes also viewed

 
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Mikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing