We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

i bunked with a friend and we had a fantastic evening and a great visit.

Room Tip: although the place is expensive, the location at Polo Park makes up for some of it. the staff are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    107
    40
    35
    29
See reviews for
129
59
19
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Manitoba
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Thought I would give this hotel a try. I am sure this property was very nice 10-12 years ago, however it hasnt been re-done since they turned this property into a hotel. Service isnt all that great, but I have had worse. Carpet especially is worn to the threads, time for a re-do. But the beds were comfy enough, and had a nice new TV, and everything you could need......but not really a good value, and I will still be looking for elsewhere to stay. I can however recomend this hotel to family's, I am sure that it is perfect especially with the water park, but if your just an Adult traveler like me with no kids in tow, find somewhere else a little more quiet and comforting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJC_84_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 12 February 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in one of the suites there for a spur-of-the-moment overnight on a Friday evening. The room was clean but needs a lot of upgrades. The TV (for $200/night they can't even spring for flat screen TVs?), the couches -- the overall decor is just so 1980s. Also, the bathroom was weird, you'll have to go outside the door to use the sink. The only thing that I liked was the comfy bed. That's it. I don't think i'll ever go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 12 February 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

With no reservation, we were well taken care of. The room was spacious and clean. Staff found a spot for us to store our bicycles for the night and with the van being too high to fit in their parking garage (due to the racks and box top), they came up with a solution for that too.
Not the easiest to drive around due to the one way streets and Portage Avenue and breakfast is not included, but overall a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vig1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 12 February 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

I thought I would try this hotel since I had some wifi issues with Holiday Inns and use an ipad which cannot hook up to ethernet cables.
On arrival I had a long wait with seven people head to check in - there is no business or premier chk in. I was pleasantly surprised however to be told that the website gave me the wrong rate and my rate was lowered. I was given room 122 on the ground floor facing Portage Ave. It is not noisy but this may be due to the fact the windows do not open!
I did notice the carpets appeared to be past the sell by date and looked run down. The room smelled musty despite the ac being on. It was freezing in the room.
I would describe the room as basic. The bed was comfortable.
The shower is not easy to use s the head of the faucet has to be pulled down to get the water to shower mode - odd. The best part came when I pulled back the shower curtain. I soon discovered it was on one of those nasty spring loaded pole's when it collapsed over the toilet seat and floor and I almost followed it.
The wireless internet signal is good however.
Be aware ( as I just found out), the airport shuttle only runs from 07.30 to 21.00. As a business traveller I am sure there are a lot more people travelling earlier than their morning start than in the evening. So this will cost me a cab.
I did try room service. It was very prompt but of mediocre quality.
I travel more than thirty nights a year. I was seking an alternative to Holiday Inn but I do not think this is it.
Beware!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank searay34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, 12 February 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Property: Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Address: 1445 Portage Ave | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price range (per night): $157 - $228
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Winnipeg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together….reconnect….relax and explore at the Clarion!The Clarion Hotel & Suites is nestled in the hub of Winnipeg’s business, shopping and entertainment district. The Clarion features 139 world class, spacious accommodations, ranging from business suites to family guestrooms, including accessible and pet friendly rooms. Our business suites are considered some of the largest in the city and range from 500 to 800 square feet and feature French glass double sliding doors, a family room, a King size bed, a pull out sofa bed, and a granite wet bar. We also offer family guestrooms which contain two queen size beds, as well as adjoining guestrooms to accommodate every need. Stay with us in any room type and enjoy complimentary parking, local calls, wireless high speed internet, airport shuttle, mini fridge and microwave, iron, ironing board, in room coffee and tea, hair dryer and full length mirror. We also offer complimentary access to our 24 hour state of the art fitness centre, 24 hour business centre and family water park, which is complete with a 2 story waterslide, hot tub, kiddie pool and rock wall with cascading waterfall, which is yours to enjoy from 9AM to 10PM daily. We are located minutes just away from the James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and the downtown centre, and steps away from Winnipeg’s largest shopping mall, Polo Park, SilverCity Cinema’s and numerous restaurants such as the Original Pancake House, Joey, Earls, Moxie’s Classic Grill, Red Lobster Seafood, Olive Garden Italian, Montana’s Cookhouse, Tony Roma’s Steakhouse, Ray and Jerry’s and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winnipeg
Winnipeg Clarion
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing