We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best soups in the city”
Review of Bernstein's Deli

Bernstein's Deli
Ranked #158 of 1,845 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 19
Cuisines: Diner, Deli, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Bernstein's Deli has served the River Heights community for over 32 years. We have a diverse mix of classic deli fare, Jewish specialties and diner food. Most of what is served in the restaurant is available to take home from the deli. The majority of the food is made from scratch and with a healthy dose of love. We offer 6 types of burger patties made from scratch (beef, turkey, bison, bison reuben, black bean wild rice and chickpea almond), mix our pancake batter in small batches, pound, coat and fry our own chicken schnitzel and fingers and so much more. Old World offerings like chopped liver, gefilte fish, potato latkes, beef brisket, matzo ball soup (along with over 20 other types of soup), the list goes on and on. We also import grocery items from South Africa and sell our famous biltong out of our back freezer (ask for it at the deli counter). Lots of choices for those that are vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, picky, fussy or just plain hard to please, our goal is to please them all! Open almost every day, we currently only close on Victoria Day, Christmas Day, Remembrance Day and Canada Day. We offer office catering, meals of condolence, custom cooking solutions, holiday meal catering and anything else you may need.
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Fabulous home style food. The only issue is deciding between breakfast, lunch or dinner. Service is friendly & helpful.

Date of visit: June 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
2  Thank colea300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

I have never written one of these previously, but the service and wait time was so bad today, i need to know if this is normal.... i would never return. Waited over an hour to order and receive the actual food. People walking in after us, especially groups, were getting their food before us. When we asked the actual chef what was going on, he said he had groups to look after. We reminded him we were there first. Seems like groups of 4 or more had priority. Food was ok, but not fantastic...definitely not worth the wait! PS...i also smelt like the restaurant for a few hours in the afternoon.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dianemF7183PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron B, Owner at Bernstein's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Hi Dianem,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry you had a negative experience the other day. You certainly did not have a normal experience. We had a full time server injure her leg (outside of work) and a cook call in sick that day, so we were scrambling for staff and admittedly it was not an ideal mix of staff to support the restaurant that day (also with several newer staff on shift to add to the chaos). We also had several large parties which is not normal for us. The person you spoke with was not our actual chef but in reality our newest cook. We do not give priority to groups of 4 or larger but work on orders in the order they come in. All we can do is apologize and let you know that in 5 years I have been involved in the business this was probably the most scrambly 2 busy hours our staff has experienced.
We sincerely hope you will give us another shot and document your experience (with a new review or by revising this review). If you identify yourself and ask for Aaron we will do something to make your visit worthwhile.
Thanks for taking the time to consider our position.
Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We went in on a Monday for supper not busy which was nice. We ended up ordering the two types of Rueben's both were great sandwiches. We got a large fry for the both of us to have with the sandwiches and it was great also, done the way that fries should be done. We will be back as there are a bunch of things on that menu that we have to try. Great place check it out.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wpgzammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ordered from here because they had pancakes and latke. The pancakes were HUGE and PHENOMENAL!! The tastiest, thickest pancakes we've ever had!! We now have a new favourite pancake house! The latke was delicious as was the breakfast and challah bread. I highly recommend this place. The price was right for the quality !

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank marcieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Nice lunch - had chopped chicken liver on good rye bread, service was prompt. I was very happy. They should have included a small dill spear in my opinion but you can probably buy a big dill pickle to have with a sandwich. I bought a container of the liver [and chopped herring too] to take to a party later that night and it went over very well

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bernstein's Deli also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Bernstein's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing