We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
246
134
81
28
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
134
81
28
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red lobster polo park front desk staff rooms are nice hot tub lots of parking home away from home shuttle service jodi lounge wedding brunch
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Good times were had by all. Breakfast before Buffet was great. Pool was nice temperature not cold like others have been to. Roomy rooms. Good to have fridge and microwave.
The only thing that could be improved on was the amount of channel on Tv. Had to buy a pay per view movie. Booked 2 rooms and was made sure that the 2 rooms were put side by side.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y7600OYmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viscount G, Sales Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Y7600OYmarkw,

We are so pleased to hear that your family had a great stay with us. The breakfast is amazing, but next time you have to stay for the brunch. It is fantastic. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope we will see you again during your next trip to Winnipeg!

Kindest regards,
Jodie Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Good price, location, and clean. Helpful staff. Very satisfied. Didn't eat food so can't speak to that but everything else was great. Nice balcony view. Such great service. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jasonwF4875GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viscount G, Sales Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Hi Jason,

That you for your great review and wonderful recommendation. Next time you are here you have to join us for a meal. We have a great lunch buffet during the week and some great food specials in the lounge. We hope to see you again soon.

Your in hospitality,
Jodie Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Viscount Gort as our host hotel for our wedding guests. I had been in email contact with the front desk manager Jodi for over a year planning our stay. From the beginning up until our stay and after, she has just been so amazing and accommodating and made our stay so enjoyable! I would recommend the Viscount Gort to anyone! The food at the lounge was amazing and the pool and waterslide was enjoyed by all our guests from ages 1 to 75!
Thank you Jodi for such amazing customer service. Our stay at your hotel made our wedding weekend absolutely magical!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Starkey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viscount G, Sales Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Starkey2016,

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I will certainly pass on your great comments to Jodi. Thank you for choosing to host your group at our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Jodie Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We had over 150 people to celebrate the anniversary of three special couples. The Viscount Gort could not be more accommodating and helpful. Day manager Chris stayed until the room was set up, and even ran out to buy audio-visual cables to ensure that our media presentations worked that evening. He stayed well past his shift to ensure everything was taken care of. The evening staff, lead by Scott, were seamless in their service and attention to detail. We had the best evening, and many of us stayed at the hotel that night with a special group rate. Bravo & thanks!

Room Tip: Alternate floors have ice machines and vending machines.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChrisL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viscount G, Sales Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

ChrisL12,

We are so pleased to hear that your families enjoyed this special night. Thank you for taking the time to share these great comments with us. I will certainly share them, with our team.

Yours in hospitality,
Jodie Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This hotel and its staff "live by their wits." It is not affiliated, AFAIK, with a large national "brand" and staff seem to know they have to depend on repeat and word-of-mouth business to survive. This is an attractive, well-run hotel with moderate prices and good amenities. I'd certainly go back a third time.

One tip: ask for a room on the east side of the hotel, which faces a residential district and a moderately used exit from Route 90. Stay on the west side and you'll be kept awake by the constant vehicle noise from this thoroughfare.

I must point out the excellent location of this hotel. Getting out of the city to the west is easy due to its location on Portage Avenue, the city's main east-west thoroughfare. Going north or south is easy, too, because it's on Route 90. Across the street is a major mall and there is an array of restaurants within 10 minute's walk.

I'm not a big fan of driving in the central core of a large city, so I habitually left my car at the Viscount Gort and took an express bus downtown. (Winnipeg Transit is on Google Transit.)

Fine little hotel, maybe even exceptional!

Room Tip: East side rooms are far quieter
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viscount G, Sales Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Will C,

What a great review! Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. We are very fortunate to have a great location for guests to enjoy our city. Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you come to town. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Jodie Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews