We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
799
462
172
80
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
462
172
80
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm room biscotti grand old hotel broadway room feather bed railway hotel haunted room classic hotel coffee service eggs benedict beautiful hotel breakfast buffet is modern amenities room service guest rooms flat screen human rights museum
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay at the Fort Garry!! We begin the Evening we checked in with dinner in the bar, which was wonderful. The next morning wee had coffee and a biscotti and a newspaper delivered to our room (enough of a reason to return!). Our room was large and well equipped. All was clean and cozy! We enjoyed a WONDERFUL breakfast and the staff was so attentive! All in all a super place to stay!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltynoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneS4884, Director of Rooms at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at The Fort Garry, and for taking the time to share such lovely comments on TripAdvisor. We're so happy you enjoyed the complimentary morning coffee delivery, and freshly made breakfast in the Broadway room. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We are regular visitors to this hotel , which adore but in our last visit , Derrick at the front desk was the most UNPROFESSIONAL and Rude front desk person I’ve ever encountered!!!
Won’t return if he is still there on our next visit!

Hotel is still awesome other than some odd quirks being a heritage hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneS4884, Director of Rooms at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at The Fort Garry. We're very sorry to read that you had a poor experience with our Front Desk, and hope to have the opportunity to provide exceptional service should you return to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

The Ft. Garry Hotel is a pleasant, upscale big old Canadian railroad hotel in the heart of Winnipeg. The hotel has been nicely renovated to preserve the historic feel but to keep an upscale feel with modern bathroom (small) and amenities, like widescreen televisions and, of course, free WIFI.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. And put a note on your door and coffee will be outside your door when you wake.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneS4884, Director of Rooms at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at The Fort Garry! Were so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, including the updated Guest rooms. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back as our Guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

The customer service at this hotel was awful. We had several issues come up regarding not booking our rooms together, refusing to give us an additional key, and charging us $80 over the quoted agreed upon price. The room were also tiny and the showers are similar to what you would find at a high school locker room. If you want to stay downtown Winnipeg there are far better hotels for the cost, with much better staff.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Inspire65222507168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneS4884, Director of Rooms at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at The Fort Garry. We're sorry your stay was not up to expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Thank you to Derrick our concerige for going above and beyond for my husbands birthday! And to Maria in the reservation department who helped me book the room and was just a lovely person to deal with!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cassie_maeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneS4884, Director of Rooms at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at The Fort Garry and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We're so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and we agree that Maria and Derrick are wonderful! We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews