We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY! horrible hotel- indifferent staff , no customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed 23 October 2017

2 of my colleagues and I were at this hotel for one night (Friday&Saturday) this past weekend. Our company had even booked the largest banquet hall for our event on Saturday morning.

At check in on Friday afternoon we asked for all our rooms to be closer to the banquet hall- which was flatly refused as the hotel was "fully booked" it seemed like the manager Ashley didn't want to even check if the location of closer rooms were a possibility.. and inconveniently placed us in room 124 which felt the most further from the banquet hall.
We have also concluded that this hotel probably had unemployed volunteers working for them as no one really cares about doing their job.. they are just a bunch of lazy arrogant people!
When we approached the theater staff for info on the play and dinner deal.. we got a very lazy reply -asking us to read brochure for any info or look online!
Another issue ordering meals especially breakfast was a disaster- coffee took longer than 15 minutes to be served.. and this was a TAKEAWAY!
the staff didn't seem to know what they were doing at the restaurant and were heard squabbling among themselves!
We tried ordered breakfast at 9am on Saturday morning , but then walked away when one of the buffet cook rolled her eyes when we asked for an omelet at the breakfast buffet.
reception staff Mandeep was very unhelpful when we requested for a late check out in-spite of the fact that we had a ballroom booking until 12:30 pm that afternoon at the same hotel. Never coming back to this place again!!

Room Tip: all rooms -especially double rooms feel like well dressed small prison cells! with dull lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank candi&lez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Candi and Lez

Thank you for putting your review of our property on Tripadvisor and giving me the opportunity to respond.
I understand that our Front Desk Manager Autumn did show you another room as an option which you declined and you are right-we were a full hotel so unfortunately had limited extra options. Due to being full the next day we also could not accommodate your late check out. I do sincerely apologize as we would normally give a late check out complimentary if we had it available.
We normally receive rave reviews about our employees, some from the same group you were with and we will have to agree to disagree with the description of lazy and arrogant as I see every day employees that go above and beyond.
Hopefully you had an opportunity to enjoy our Celebrations dinner theatre while you were here.

Best Regards
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Attempted to book into our group of rooms reserved for our family members while attending an event at Celebrations on Thanksgiving weekend. We were informed the rooms weren't available as the previous clients hadn't checked out and this was at 3:30 pm. We were offered a free drink in the Tavern while we waited as well as free breakfast for our inconvenience. Service here was very slow! Our grandchildren were excited about swimming in the pool but had no places to change. We had hoped to change and put things away in our room and visit with family prior to going to celebrations but that didn't happen until about 6 PM when we were told our rooms were finally ready! We quickly changed and met our guests at the dinner theatre. The dinner Theatre was wonderful and no issues here. The next morning we went to have our breakfast to find the Altos restaurant was short staffed. Our waitress was one who was brought in from the tavern staff so not familiar with the menu etc. We rdered from the menu but took forever to get it and it wasn't what we had ordered. Our daughter and family didn't get their orders without asking passing servers to see if they were ready. They never received their correct beverages. Tables weren't getting cleared and reset. Very dissatisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Valerie

Thank you for your review of our property on Tripadvisor.
I was disappointed to hear of your experience. There were a few items beyond our control but your breakfast at Aaltos was one that was within.
I would like to call you and personally discuss further so that I can ensure I capture all and correct immediately.
My email is dpilcher@canadinns.com. Please let me know the best date and time to reach you via it.

Best Regards
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff. The Manager is always helpful and is very welcoming, as well as the front desk agents. I always stay at this hotel whether it's for business or pleasure! I love staying at this hotel. It's my home away from home. I wouldn't stay at any other hotel. :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Kathy

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property.
We are pleased you enjoy your stays and I thank you for your loyalty.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Hubby and I stayed at the Canad Inn on Pembina for over a week mid-July. My Mother had ended up in the Victoria Hospital just up the street and this location was within a 2 minute drive to visit her.

The staff were very pleasant and courteous and lovely to deal with. The room was very comfortable and clean with all the amenities. Coffee maker, bar fridge, lovely spacious bathroom.

One evening a group of teenagers stayed over and were in rooms very close to ours. The noise level reached an unreasonable level when we were trying to head to bed so I called the Front Desk to complain. Within minutes we heard Hotel staff arrive and politely ask the kids to keep it down, which they did. We very much appreciated it, as being in the Hospital for the majority of the day was exhausting.

We ate at the Hotel's Buffet dining room "Aaltos" one evening and quite enjoyed our meal.

We also took advantage of the Hotel's pool which was great. The giant slide would be great for children.

There are a couple of restaurants virtually attached to this Hotel. We enjoyed yummy wings one evening at "Tavern United", the Sports Bar. And ordered pizza one evening from the "Garbonzo's Pizza" across the street. They literally walked over when our pizza was ready and delivered it right to our room. We also took advantage of the "Celebrations Dinner Theatre" which is located inside the Canad Inn and spent a very enjoyable evening there.

This location is an oasis and is pretty much self contained. If you do feel the need to leave the property there are a ton of great restaurants very, very close by.

We would highly recommend this Hotel. It's a really great spot.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi Janet

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that our location is close to where your mother was.
We look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future - hopefully under better circumstances.

Best Regards
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Again this year we stayed at the Canad Inn before and after the game. Everything from food, to rooms, to staff was bang on!! We have already made our reservations for next year, when the Bombers again kick the Riders, and the Canad Inns is always a great part of our weekend!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn P, General Manager at Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Hi Kevin

Thank you for your review of our property on Tripadvisor.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a loyal customer.
Banjo Bowl is always fun here seeing as we are so close to Investors group field and especially with our shuttle to and from the game and our Tavern patio with a Rider and a Bomber side!!
We look forward to seeing you again next year if not before.

Best Regards
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Polo Park
Canad Inns Polo Park
#55 of 63 in Winnipeg
193 reviews
Canad Inns Garden City
#44 of 63 in Winnipeg
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
#33 of 63 in Winnipeg
232 reviews
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#27 of 63 in Winnipeg
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry

Address: 1824 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $105 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canad Inns are Destination Centres that feature the finest in accommodation, food and beverage, entertainment, banquet and conference facilities, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing