We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is is okay, nothing great. It is one of the newer ones. You can get a decent price for a room depending on which time of the year.

When we checked in the girl gave us the key and did not provide us with any information such as wifi pass, check out, etc.

Our room was pretty small but a lot of them are like that in whistler. It looked nice. Used the bathroom right away and noticed dried toothpaste in the sink and on the faucet. It just gives me the heebie jeebies thinking what else wasn't cleaned?! I phoned the front desk and she asked me if I wanted her to send up housekeeping. I said no, how about a clean room instead?? She put me on hold and then told me she would send up the bellboy with new room keys. We waited about 10 minutes standing by the door. She really didn't seem to care what so ever.

The bed was comfy. That night we stayed was quiet.

I would stay at this hotel again if the price was right. I would look at other options first. Sometimes you can get really good deals at better hotels too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,386 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I came up for the Easter long weekend. The girl at check in did not offer anyone to assist with our luggage so by the time we parked there was no way we were going to make 5 trips up the stairs with our luggage. We drove back up and I had to ask for someone to help. Very disappointing first impression. The underground parking is nice but there are no signs! The room is nice and clean, has a fridge (no kitchenette) and the location and view are nice. The fitness room is small and the equipment is ok but not life fitness or precor (standard for better hotels). This hotel would be great if you are coming up with a stag or stagette- the pool and hot tub were packed with party goers. Definitely not relaxing. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't expect much. Not relaxing and the walls are too thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your review "Wendy M",

I am very sorry to hear that our Bellman missed you on your arrival - certainly the parkade is not as convenient as our front entrance to arrive with lots of luggage, although we do have several elevators and bell carts available to assist in travelling to our guest rooms from this level if preferred.

Thank you for constructively pointing out other areas where we can improve such as additional signage and in some of our facilities. Aava remains one of Whistlers best accommodation values, offering the features, amenities, and services well beyond most hotels in our price range.

Our unobstructed pool and hot tub area is very popular following a day on the slopes, and at peak times, can be quite busy with friendly and smiling guests sharing the excitement and stories from their day. Certainly, this atmosphere does not suit every guest as it sounds like you were not in an "apres" frame of mind. You may have enjoyed more privacy and tranquility during the "off-peak" pool times, where many guests often enjoy the pool space in complete privacy.

I do hope you had a great weekend in Whistler, and thank you for joining us at Aava!

Colin Hedderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I along with our 2.5 year old son stayed at the Aava for 4 nights in March and the first thing I encounted was a very below average check-in. The lady at the front desk took all my details, credit card imprint passed me the keys and smiled. She didn't explain anything about the hotel, where I find our room, how to get to the parking gararge (which I had just paid for!), how to get our luggage to the rooms, nothing! I had to ask her several questions, serveal times just to get a helpfull answer. It was one of the worst check-in's I've ever had. This hotel is very basic just the essentials here and the small rooms are very very basic, however they were clean and the beds comfortable. Making your way between the bed and the desk is fine if the chair is tucked tightly into place and my husband wasn't sitting there on the computer. I would recommend putting your do not disturb sign on your door the night before if your thinking of a sleep-in. We were still dealing with the time difference and were asleep at 8.30 am when house keeping knocks on the door once and then opens the door (our fault we should have made sure it was properly locked) but after letting the lady know that we were fine and didn't want to have the room cleaned yet I get 2 phone calls from house keeping 10 minutes later!! I couldn't believe it, we told the lady at the door that we had a child sleeping and we didn't really need housekeeping today anyway - we'd only been there one night. I had to tell housekeeing on the phone that we were fine- again (there may have been a language barrier with the woman at the door). The outdoor hot tubs seemed to be the place to be and were always being used. There is a White Spot family restaurant across the road that is really good and is very resonably priced. The location of the hotel is fine as its on the edge of the village and is a short walk to anything you may need. If you get a room at this hotel for the right price - go for it! However, if your paying top dollar or there is another slightly more expensive place your looking at I think it would be money well spent to try somethig else. We're not going to stay here again and will spend the extra for something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear "Ren95",

I just wanted to send a quick email to apologize for your visit to Aava being less less than perfect.

I am most disappointed by the details of your check-in experience. With much of the welcome experience and property introduction missing from your arrival, your "first impression experience" is certainly not the standard we are striving for, nor has it been a frequent comment from many of our previous guests.

You have provided us with some very detailed, and tremendously valuable feedback with which to improve our Front Desk and Housekeeping training, to help ensure that our future guests do not share the disappointing experiences you have described.

If ever you are able to return to Whistler, I would love to extend an invitation to join us at Aava, where I may personally ensure an improved guest experience, and a more comfortable and spacious room-type than you had experienced during this disappointing stay.

Again I thank you, and appreciate you taking the time to complete your TripAdvisor review.

Kindest regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Aava Whistler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very friendly staff , hotel is very clean and modern as are the rooms, hot tub and pool outside have a great view of the mountains. There is a driving range beside the hotel for the summer golfers. White Spot restaurant shares the same entrance, good place to eat similar to Denny's in USA. Across the street 30 to 40 yards you are in the village without the big cost.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polaris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Aava in Whistler for three nights a couple of weeks ago, having found a great deal online.
Turns out its very, very conveniently located for accessing the gondola and its a very nice contemporary design, not really much of the 'ski lodge' look that most places do in Whistler. So that was nice. Oh you could borrow one of those head camera's to record your day on the mountian.... for free!
We had a superior king room which was pretty big, over looked the pool, view of the village and mountains beyond. All very nice.
Then I got into bed and nearly lost my mind! It was luxurious beyond what I had imagined. The sheets were awesome, the pillow top mattress was luscious, the duvet was so cozy. We usually stay in another 5 star hotel in Whistler but the bed... omg the bed... we are going back for three more nights over Easter specifically because of that bed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey_DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 km away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,837 reviews
0.6 km away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,992 reviews
0.1 km away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#20 of 49 in Whistler
992 reviews
1.2 km away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: $159 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing